Robinson Named Semifinalist for Davey O'Brien Award
Denard Robinson

Oct. 22, 2012

FORT WORTH, Texas -- University of Michigan football senior quarterback Denard Robinson (Deerfield Beach, Fla./Deerfield Beach) has been named as one of 16 semifinalists for the 2012 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, the selection committee announced today (Monday, Oct. 22).

Robinson, a semifinalist for the Davey O'Brien Award in 2010 and 2011, has helped lead the Wolverines to a 5-2 record (3-0 Big Ten) and a No. 20 ranking through seven games in 2012. Robinson has completed 83 of 155 passes for 1,264 yards and nine touchdowns while rushing 121 times for 900 yards and six touchdowns. Robinson leads the Big Ten in rushing yards per game (128.6) and total offense per game (309.1). He has nine rushes of 30-plus yards this season.

Robinson, who owns the top eight single-game offensive totals in U-M history, has set a new Michigan record with 10,324 career offensive yards, surpassing Chad Henne's old mark of 9,400 yards. With one more passing touchdown, Robinson will become the first Big Ten player with 50 career passing touchdowns and 40 career rushing touchdowns. Earlier this season, Robinson became the Big Ten's all-time leading rusher among quarterbacks, breaking the former mark of Antwaan Randle El (3,895 yards). Robinson needs 352 rushing yards to pass former West Virginia quarterback Pat White's current NCAA mark.

Robinson joins Ohio State's Braxton Miller as Big Ten quarterbacks named as semifinalists for the award. The three Davey O'Brien finalists will be announced on Monday, Nov. 19, and the 2012 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced on "The Home Depot College Football Awards," which airs Thursday, Dec. 6, on ESPN. The 36th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held on Feb.18, 2013, in Fort Worth, Texas.

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award (The O'Brien) is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O'Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $825,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

Following is a list of the 16 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award semifinalists:
Matt Barkley, USC, Pac-12
Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC
Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, Big East
Colby Cameron, Louisiana Tech, WAC
Seth Doege, Texas Tech, Big 12
Nick Florence, Baylor, Big 12
Landry Jones, Oklahoma, Big 12
Collin Klein, Kansas State, Big 12
EJ Manuel, Florida State, ACC
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, SEC
Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Pac-12
AJ McCarron, Alabama, SEC
Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten
Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC
Denard Robinson, Michigan, Big Ten
Geno Smith, West Virginia, Big 12

Media Contact: Justin Dickens (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.