Robinson Named Semifinalist for Davey O'Brien Award
Denard Robinson

Oct. 24, 2011

Vote for Denard

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan football junior quarterback Denard Robinson (Deerfield Beach, Fla./Deerfield Beach) has been named as one of 16 semifinalists for the 2011 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, the selection committee announced Monday (Oct. 24).

Robinson, a 2010 Davey O'Brien Award semifinalist, has helped lead the Wolverines to a 6-1 start and a No. 17 national ranking. He has completed 76 of 141 passes for 1,253 yards and 11 touchdowns and rushed for 762 yards (108.9 yards per game) and nine touchdowns on 120 carries. Robinson leads the Big Ten with 287.9 total yards per game, and his 16.49 yards per completion leads the NCAA.

Robinson joins Michigan State's Kirk Cousins and Wisconsin's Russell Wilson as Big Ten quarterbacks named as semifinalists for the award. Three finalists will be named on Monday, Nov. 21, and the 2011 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 8 on ESPN. Fans may now help determine which three quarterbacks will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at Fan voting will close at noon CST on Nov. 20.

The O'Brien is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. It honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics.

Complete List of Semifinalists

Media Contact: Justin Dickens (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.