Safety Kovacs a Quarterfinalist for Lott IMPACT Trophy
Jordan Kovacs

Oct. 26, 2011

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan football senior/junior safety Jordan Kovacs (Curtice, Ohio/Clay) was named Wednesday (Oct. 26) as one of 20 quarterfinalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy.

Kovacs earned Lott IMPACT Week One Player of the Week following the Wolverines' victory over Western Michigan, and earlier in the spring was named to the Lott IMPACT trophy preseason watch list.

Kovacs has registered 42 tackles, including a team-leading three sacks, this season. During the contest against Northwestern on Oct. 8, Kovacs tallied seven total tackles including two solo tackles for a loss on fourth-down plays. He also has an interception, forced fumble and fumble recovery.

After surpassing 200 career tackles in the 2011 season opener, the former walk-on now has 233 career tackles.

The IMPACT award, founded in 2004 and named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, recognizes college football's Defensive Player of the Year who best exemplifies integrity, maturity, performance, academics, community and tenacity. It is the only award that recognizes both a player's athletic performance and personal character attributes.

Other Big Ten players joining Kovacs on the list include Lavonte David (Nebraska), Aaron Henry (Wisconsin), Joe Holland (Purdue), John Simon (Ohio State) and Jerel Worthy (Michigan State).

The eighth annual Lott Trophy dinner will be held on Dec. 11 at the Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Calif.

Full List of Lott IMPACT Trophy Quarterfinalists:
Emmanauel Acho (LB, Texas)
Mark Barron (S, Alabama)
John Boyett (S, Oregon)
Brodrick Brown (CB, Oklahoma State)
Quinton Coples (DL, North Carolina)
Lavonte David (LB, Nebraska)
Stephon Gilmore (CB, South Carolina)
Aaron Henry (DB, Wisconsin)
Dont'a Hightower (LB, Alabama)
Joe Holland (LB, Purdue)
Delano Howell (S, Stanford)
Jordan Kovacs (S, Michigan)
Luke Kuechly (LB, Boston College)
Chase Minnifield (CB, Virginia)
T.J. McDonald (S, USC)
Kendall Reyes (DL, Connecticut)
John Simon (DL, Ohio State)
Brandon Taylor (DB, LSU)
Manti Te'o (LB, Notre Dame)
Jerel Worthy (DL, Michigan State)

Media Contact: Justin Dickens (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.