Hoke Named to Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Watch List
Brady Hoke

Nov. 1, 2013

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan football head coach Brady Hoke was named as one of 20 coaches nationally to the 2013 Bryant Coach of the Year Award Watch List, the American Heart Association and Marathon Oil Corporation announced Friday (Nov. 1).

Hoke was a finalist for the award in 2011 after leading the Wolverines to an 11-2 record and an Allstate Sugar Bowl victory in his first season.

Hoke is one of two Big Ten coaches on the list this season, including Urban Meyer of Ohio State.

In early December, a finalists' list comprised of five to 10 coaches will be announced. Finalists will attend an awards dinner on Jan. 15, 2014, at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in the Galleria in Houston, Texas, where the winner will be announced. The Bryant Coach of the Year Award is the only college coaching honor voted on after all of the bowl games are concluded.

January's event also will recognize one of the longest-serving and winningest football coaches in Texas A&M history, R.C. Slocum, as the 2014 Bryant Lifetime Achievement Recipient. The award recognizes excellence in coaching on and off the field during a career, allowing recipients to take their place in history alongside legends such as Paul "Bear" Bryant. Recent Lifetime Achievement recipients include Barry Switzer, Glenn "Bo" Schembechler, Bobby Bowden and LaVell Edwards.

The Bryant Awards honor excellence in coaching while raising funds to fight heart disease and stroke. Bryant himself suffered a heart attack prior to his death in 1983. Funds raised benefit research, community education and outreach programs of the AHA.

Bryant Coach of the Year Watch List (alphabetical order):
David Bailiff - Rice
Art Briles - Baylor
Rod Carey - Northern Illinois
Tim DeRuyter - Fresno State
Jimbo Fisher - Florida State
Al Golden - Miami (FL)
Mark Helfrich - Oregon
Brady Hoke - Michigan
Kliff Kingsbury - Texas Tech
Pete Lembo - Ball State
Tony Levine - Houston
Gus Malzahn - Auburn
Urban Meyer - Ohio State
Les Miles - LSU
George O'Leary - UCF
Gary Pinkel - Missouri
Nick Saban - Alabama
David Shaw - Stanford
Bob Stoops - Oklahoma
Kevin Sumlin - Texas A&M

Media Contact: Justin Dickens, Zach Eisendrath (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.