Carr, Hart and Crable Nominated for National Awards

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- Head coach Lloyd Carr and two of the three University of Michigan football team captains -- senior tailback Mike Hart(Syracuse, N.Y./Onondaga Central HS) and fifth-year senior linebacker Shawn Crable(Massillon, Ohio/Washington HS) -- have been named to prestigious national award lists.

For the second straight season, Carr has been selected as a candidate for the Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach of the Year Award presented by the American Heart Association. Carr has guided the Wolverines to eight straight victories and a tie atop the Big Ten Conference standings at 6-0 this season. He won the award following Michigan's 1997 national championship season and has been a finalist on two other occasions (2003 and 2006).

The nation's third-leading rusher, Mike Hart is one of 15 semifinalists for the 71st Maxwell Award, presented by the Maxwell Football Club to the Collegiate Player of the Year. Hart and Illinois' tailback Rashard Mendenhall are the only Big Ten players on the semifinalist list. Hart was a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award last year. He has gained 100 yards rushing in all eight games played this season and in 17 of his past 21 games dating back to last season.

Crable is one of four conference linebackers on the semifinalist list for the 13th Chuck Bednarik Award, presented to the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year by the Maxwell Football Club. Crable, the leader among linebackers nationally in tackles for loss, is joined by Penn State's Dan Connor, Ohio State's James Laurinaitis and Illinois' J Leman. Crable is tied for the team lead with a career-best 67 tackles, including 22.5 TFLs, 7.5 sacks and three forced fumbles. U-M defensive end LaMarr Woodley was a finalist for the Bednarik Award last season.

Three finalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik awards will be announced in late November. The winners of the awards will be made during the 2007 Home Depot College Football Award Show broadcast by ESPN on Thursday, Dec. 6. The finalists for the Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach of the Year Award will be announced on Dec. 12.

Media Contact: David Ablauf (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.