Robinson Named Semifinalist for Maxwell Award

Nov. 8, 2010

SOUTHHAMPTON, Penn. -- The Maxwell Football Club announced Monday afternoon (Nov. 8) that University of Michigan sophomore quarterback Denard Robinson (Deerfield Beach, Fla./Deerfield Beach HS) is one of 16 semifinalists for the 2010 Maxwell Award, which has been presented annually since 1937 to the top college football player in the nation.

Robinson threw for a career-best 305 yards in three quarters of action against Illinois on Saturday (Nov. 6). He completed 10-of-20 passes for 305 yards and equaled his career high with three passing touchdowns. Robinson carried the ball 19 times for 62 yards in the contest. His 367 yards of total offense against the Illini is the sixth-best mark in school history.

Already the Big Ten's season record holder for rushing yards by a quarterback, Robinson needs 146 yards on the ground to set the NCAA season record; Air Force's Beau Morgan holds the NCAA mark with 1,494 yards on 225 carries in 1996. Robinson has 183 rushing attempts for 1,349 yards and 12 touchdowns this season. He is the nation's second-leading rusher (149.8 avg.) behind Oregon's LaMichael James (166.38 avg.).

Robinson is 11th nationally in pass efficiency (160.9 rating), completing 118-of-186 passes (63.4 pct.) for 1,814 yards. He has 13 touchdown passes to seven interceptions and has thrown for at least one score in eight of the nine games. Robinson is averaging 201.6 passing yards per contest.

Robinson leads the nation in total offense with an average of 351.4 yards per game. He needs 78 yards to break the Michigan season record for total offense held by John Navarre (3,240 yards in 2003). Robinson has five of the top six total offensive games in U-M history, has 369 plays for 3,163 yards, and has accounted for 25 touchdowns (12 rushing, 13 passing).

The sophomore signal caller looks to become the first player in NCAA history to have 1,500 yards in both rushing and passing in the same season.

Following are the 16 semifinalists for the 2010 Maxwell Award:

Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State University, WR, Sophomore
Ryan Broyles, University of Oklahoma, WR, Junior
Andy Dalton, Texas Christian University, QB, Senior
Robert Griffin III, Baylor University, QB, Sophomore
Kendall Hunter, Oklahoma State University, RB, Senior
LaMichael James, University of Oregon, RB, Sophomore
Colin Kaepernick, University of Nevada, QB, Senior
Andrew Luck, Stanford University, QB, Sophomore
Ryan Mallett, University of Arkansas, QB, Junior
Taylor Martinez, University of Nebraska, QB, Freshman
Kellen Moore, Boise State University, QB, Junior
Cam Newton, Auburn University, QB, Junior
Terrelle Pryor, Ohio State University, QB, Junior
DENARD ROBINSON, University of Michigan, QB, Sophomore
Ricky Stanzi, University of Iowa, QB, Senior
Tyrod Taylor, Virginia Polytechnic Institute, QB, Senior

Media Contact: David Ablauf (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.