Navarre Among Semifinalists for Davey O'Brien Award

FORT WORTH, Texas -- The Davey O'Brien Foundation announced today (Thursday, Nov. 13) that University of Michigan fifth-year senior quarterback and tri-captain John Navarre (Cudahy, Wis./Cudahy HS) has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, presented annually to the nation's best college football quarterback.


The other nine semifinalists, in alphabetical order, are: Josh Harris, Bowling Green; Matt Leinart, Southern California; Eli Manning, Mississippi; Philip Rivers, North Carolina State; Ben Roethlisberger, Miami (Ohio); Rod Rutherford, Pittsburgh; Jeff Smoker, Michigan State; B.J. Symons, Texas Tech; and Jason White, Oklahoma.

Navarre directs a balanced Michigan offense that ranks second in the Big Ten Conference and in the top 30 nationally in every major statistical category. Navarre has completed 200-of-347 passes (56.7 percent) for 2,494 yards and 19 touchdowns this season. He leads the Big Ten in touchdown passes (19) and is second in both total offense (246.1 per game) and passing offense (249.4 per game) to Michigan State's Jeff Smoker.

Navarre has thrown for more than 200 yards seven times this season, including five straight games, and has tossed at least one touchdown pass in each of the 10 games this year. He is among Michigan's season leaders in passing records already this year, ranking fourth in both attempts and completions, tied for fifth in TDs and seventh in yardage. Navarre needs 49 completions, 102 attempts and 412 passing yards to surpass his school-record marks set last season.

Navarre has completed 695-of-1257 passes (.553) for 8,417 yards and 67 touchdowns during his career. He owns six Michigan career passing records and seven season marks, not including the season and career total offense records. Navarre ranks among the top six in all four conference passing categories, listing fourth in attempts, fifth in completions and sixth in yards and touchdowns all-time in the conference record book. He has thrown 67 touchdowns and stands four TDs shy of Elvis Grbac's (1989-92) school record of 71 touchdown passes entering the Northwestern game.

The selection committee, composed of national sportswriters and commentators, will vote later this month on three finalists to be announced Dec. 1 by the National College Football Awards Association. The winner of the 2003 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award will be announced on the 2003 Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 11, at 7 p.m. EST.

Media Contacts: David Ablauf, Jim Schneider (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about season ticket opportunities for the 2017 Michigan football season.