Omameh Selected Among Finalists for Pop Warner Award
Patrick Omameh

Nov. 13, 2012

ORLANDO, Fla. -- University of Michigan fifth-year senior offensive lineman Patrick Omameh (Columbus, Ohio/St. Francis De Sales) was named today (Tuesday, Nov. 13) as one of four finalists for the 2012 Pop Warner National College Football Award.

The award, given by Pop Warner Little Scholars, Inc., recognizes a Pop Warner alumnus who has made a difference on the field, in the classroom and in his community. It is presented to a student-athlete who has taken the ideals of Pop Warner to the next level and serves as a role model to Pop Warner's young scholar athletes.

Duke quarterback Sean Renfree, Miami running back Mike James and Connecticut wide receiver Nick Williams join Omameh as finalists for the award.

The Pop Warner National College Football Award is presented during the annual Pop Warner Super Bowl at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex at Walt Disney World in Orlando, Fla. The inaugural award was presented to former Nebraska and current New York Giants' defensive back Prince Amukamara. In 2011, the award was presented to University of Virginia and current Washington Redskins' cornerback Chase Minnifield.

The winner of the Pop Warner National College Football Award will be announced on Wednesday, Dec. 5, during the 56th annual Pop Warner Super Bowl.

In September, Omameh was named to the Allstate American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Good Works Team, which honors community service and charitable involvement of athletes off the field. Out of 117 nominees, Omameh was one of 11 FBS players to receive the prestigious award.

On the field, Omameh has started 39 consecutive games at right guard for the Wolverines. Double-majoring in communications and sociology with a concentration in business administration in U-M's College of Literature, Science and the Arts, he is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection.

Media Contact: Justin Dickens (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.