Kovacs Named Semifinalist for Burlsworth Trophy
Jordan Kovacs

Nov. 22, 2011

Fan Voting

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan football senior/junior safety Jordan Kovacs (Curtice, Ohio/Clay) was named Tuesday (Nov. 21) as one of 10 semifinalists for the Burlsworth Trophy, which is awarded to the most outstanding football player in America that began his career as a walk-on.

Kovacs this season has started 10 games and totaled 60 tackles, 42 solo, six stops for losses, three sacks, one interception, two forced fumbles and one fumble recovered for a Wolverines defense that ranks sixth in the NCAA in scoring defense and 14th in total defense.

For his career, the former walk-on has 251 tackles, 19 tackles-for-loss, four sacks, four interceptions, five forced fumbles and two fumbles recovered.

Fans will be allowed to vote for their favorite player via the AT&T Fan Vote at BurlsworthTrophy.com. Voting will begin with the top 10 semifinalists and continue as the selection committee announces the top three Burlsworth Trophy finalists on Nov. 29. Fans are limited to one vote per day and the voting will conclude Dec. 6. The winner of The Burlsworth Trophy will be announced Dec. 9 at a banquet in Springdale, Ark. sponsored by the Springdale Rotary Club.

Burlsworth Trophy Semifinalists
Jordan Kovacs, JR Safety, Michigan
Tyler Shoemaker, SR Wide Receiver, Boise State
Mike Remmers, SR Offensive Tackle, Oregon State
Griff Whalen, SR Wide Receiver, Stanford
Bryant Moniz, SR Quarterback, Hawaii
Patrick Edwards, SR Wide Receiver, Houston
Steven Johnson, SR Linebacker, Kansas
Mike Caputo, SR Center, Nebraska
Dominique Whaley, JR Running Back, Oklahoma
Austin Davis, SR Quarterback, Southern Mississippi

Media Contact: Justin Dickens (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.