Molk Named Top Offensive Lineman to Headline Big Ten Awards
David Molk

Nov. 28, 2011

David Molk Interview

PARK RIDGE, Ill. -- Fifth-year senior center David Molk (Lemont, Ill./Lemont Township) of the University of Michigan football team was named the recipient of the inaugural Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year award, the Big Ten Conference announced on Monday (Nov. 28) during a live unveiling of its 2011 football awards on the Big Ten Network.

Molk headlined the Wolverines' four All-Big Ten honorees, earning first team on the coaches' ballot and second team from the media. Senior defensive tackle Mike Martin (Redford, Mich./Detroit Catholic Central) was a second-team selection in both polls, while junior quarterback Denard Robinson (Deerfield Beach, Fla./Deerfield Beach) earned second-team media honors and junior/sophomore offensive tackle Taylor Lewan (Scottsdale, Ariz./Chaparral) earned a second-team coaches selection.

Molk is an All-Big Ten first team honoree by the coaches for the second year in a row. He was a second-team honoree by the media in 2010. Molk made his 25th consecutive start in U-M's victory over Ohio State last Saturday (Nov. 26). He has 41 career starts.

Lewan has started 21 of the last 22 games at left tackle, including 14 in a row. Lewan also earned honorable mention from the media.

Football Ticket Interest List
Join us at Michigan Stadium in 2012! Support Michigan Athletics and gain priority for individual and season tickets by becoming a member of the Victors Club.

Molk and Lewan paved the way for the U-M offense that ranked second in the Big Ten in both scoring (34.2 points per game) and rushing (235.7 yards per game). The U-M front allowed 15 sacks, which tied for second fewest in the conference.

Martin also earned All-Big Ten second team from the coaches in 2010. In 2011, he set career highs for tackles (54) and sacks (3) while notching 5.5 tackles-for-loss. Martin anchored a U-M defense that was second in the Big Ten in rush defense (129.1 yards per game) and first in red zone defense (68.6 percent). The Michigan defense ranked first in conference-only play in rush defense (115.6 yards per game) and third-down percentage (31 of 103 attempts, 30.1 percent).

Robinson led the Big Ten in total offense (268.2 yards per game) for the second year in a row, becoming the first player to do so since Drew Brees from 1998-2000. His 1,163 yards rushing were fifth in the conference. He also passed for 2,056 yards; his 171.3 yards per game passing ranked fifth. Robinson tied a career high with 18 passing touchdowns while rushing for a career-best 16 touchdowns. He earned honorable mention from the Big Ten coaches.

Senior/junior safety Jordan Kovacs (Curtice, Ohio/Clay) was named the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award recipient for the Michigan program.

Eight other Wolverines received honorable mention in one or both of the votes:
LB Kenny Demens (coaches/media)
CB J.T. Floyd (coaches/media)
WR Junior Hemingway (coaches)
TE Kevin Koger (coaches/media)
S Jordan Kovacs (media)
DE Craig Roh (media)
RB Fitzgerald Toussaint (coaches/media)
DE Ryan Van Bergen (coaches/media)

Contact: Justin Dickens (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.