Robinson Named Bo Schembechler Most Valuable Player for 2010

Dec. 2, 2010

LIVONIA, Mich. -- The University of Michigan Club of Greater Detroit held the 90th annual football bust Thursday evening (Dec. 2) at the Laurel Manor, where the 2010 team awards were announced and the senior football student-athletes received their coveted 'M' rings. Sophomore quarterback Denard Robinson (Deerfield Beach, Fla./Deerfield Beach HS) was voted as the BO SCHEMBECHLER MOST VALUABLE PLAYER and was one of seven players to receive individual recognition.

Robinson is the nation's top dual-threat quarterback and was named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year Monday (Nov. 29). He set the NCAA season record for rushing yards by a quarterback with 1,643 yards on 245 carries and 14 touchdowns this season. Robinson became the first signal caller in NCAA history to rush and pass for 1,500 yards in a season. He completed 155-of-250 passes for 2,316 yards and 16 touchdowns. Robinson set the U-M season mark for total offense with 3,959 yards and has accounted for 30 TDs.

Senior/junior offensive lineman Zac Ciullo (Bloomfield Hills, Mich./Brother Rice HS) received the DR. ARTHUR D. ROBINSON SCHOLARSHIP AWARD as the leading senior scholar on the football team. A walk-on player, Ciullo will graduate this spring with a psychology degree and has already been accepted to the University of Michigan Law School.

Senior/junior center David Molk (Lemont, Ill./Lemont Township HS) and fifth-year senior left guard Stephen Schilling (Bellevue, Wash./Bellevue HS) shared the HUGH R. RADER JR. MEMORIAL AWARD as the squad's top offensive linemen. The duo started all 12 games at their respective positions. This is the third straight season that Schilling has earned this honor. Molk received first-team All-Big Ten honors from the coaches and was a second-team selection by the media.

The Big Ten's leader in tackles, fifth-year senior Jonas Mouton (Los Angeles, Calif./Venice HS) was named the ROGER ZATKOFF AWARD winner as the team's top linebacker. Mouton posted a career-best 111 tackles in 11 starts at weakside linebacker. He posted 8.5 tackles for loss, two sacks, two interceptions, four pass breakups, forced one fumble and recovered two additional fumbles. Mouton earned 2010 All-Big Ten second team honors from the media.

Fifth-year senior linebacker Mark Moundros (Farmington Hills, Mich./North Farmington HS) received the ROBERT P. UFER BEQUEST as the senior football player who demonstrates the most enthusiasm and love for Michigan. A team co-captain, Moundros started one game at weakside linebacker but played on almost every special teams unit for the Wolverines. He contributed 12 tackles on the season.

Junior nose tackle Mike Martin (Redford, Mich./Catholic Central HS) was named the RICHARD KATCHER AWARD winner as Michigan's top defensive lineman for the second straight season. Martin tied for the team lead among defensive linemen with 36 tackles during an injury-riddled season, including six tackles for loss and two sacks. Martin earned second-team all-conference honors from the coaches and was honorable mention by the media.

Following are the 2010 team award winners:

Bo Schembechler MVP: Denard Robinson
Dr. Arthur D. Robinson Scholarship Award: Zac Ciullo
Hugh R. Rader Memorial Award: David Molk and Stephen Schilling
Roger Zatkoff Award: Jonas Mouton
Robert P. Ufer Bequest: Mark Moundros
Richard Katcher Award: Mike Martin

Media Contact: David Ablauf (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.