Lewan, Funchess Earn Top Big Ten Position Awards

Dec. 2, 2013

PARK RIDGE, Ill. -- The 2013 Big Ten Football Awards were announced Monday evening (Dec. 2) during a live show on the Big Ten Network, with University of Michigan fifth-year senior offensive tackle Taylor Lewan (Scottsdale, Ariz./Chaparral) being named the recipient of the Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year award for the second consecutive season and sophomore tight end Devin Funchess (Farmington Hills, Mich./Harrison) earning Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year honors.

It marks the third year in a row a Michigan player has been named the Big Ten's top offensive lineman. Prior to Lewan claiming the award in successive seasons, fifth-year senior center David Molk (2008-11) won the inaugural Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year award in 2011.

Lewan headlined the Wolverines' five All-Big Ten honorees, earning first-team recognition from both the coaches and the media. Funchess and junior/sophomore cornerback Blake Countess (Owings Mills, Md./Our Lady of Good Counsel) were also named to the All-Big Ten first team by the media and earned all-conference second-team honors from the coaches.

Fifth-year senior wide receiver Jeremy Gallon (Apopka, Fla./Apopka HS) and junior defensive end Frank Clark (Cleveland, Ohio/Glenville HS) also earned all-conference second team honors. Gallon, whose 1,284 receiving yards in 2013 rank second all-time on U-M's single-season list, received his selection from both the coaches and the media. Clark garnered second-team distinction from the coaches and earned honorable mention from the media.

Lewan, who has opened 47 career games at left tackle -- including 40 consecutive -- is only the ninth Michigan offensive lineman to be a starter for four seasons for the Maize and Blue. A semifinalist for the Rotary Lombardi Award, the Wolverines' offensive captain did not allow a sack during the 2013 regular season on his way to being recognized as the Big Ten's top offensive lineman. Lewan was a 2012 All-America first team choice by the Walter Camp Football Foundation, Associated Press, ESPN.com and SI.com. He also was an All-Big Ten first team choice by the league's coaches and media during his junior campaign.

Funchess has hauled in a career-best 47 receptions for a career-high 727 yards and six touchdowns. His 727 receiving yards in 2013 are the most all-time by a U-M tight end in a single season, surpassing Jim Mandich's previous program record of 662 yards in 1969.

The Farmington Hills native leads all Big Ten tight ends in catches, yards and touchdowns, and he ranks third among FBS tight ends in receiving yards and receptions. Funchess' 961 receiving yards through 25 career games already rank seventh among U-M tight ends on the program's career receiving yardage list.

Senior cornerback Courtney Avery (Mansfield, Ohio/Lexington) was named the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award recipient for the Michigan program.

Five other Wolverines received honorable mention in one or both of the votes:
DT Jibreel Black (coaches/media)
QB Devin Gardner (media)
K Brendan Gibbons (media)
RT Michael Schofield (coaches)
CB Raymon Taylor (media)

Courtney AveryFrank ClarkBlake CountessDevin FunchessJeremy GallonTaylor Lewan
Courtney AveryFrank ClarkBlake CountessDevin FunchessJeremy GallonTaylor Lewan

Media Contact: Justin Dickens, Zach Eisendrath (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.