Carr Named to Rose Bowl Hall of Fame
Lloyd Carr

Dec. 8, 2013

PASADENA, Calif. -- The Tournament of Roses announced today (Sunday, Dec. 8) that former University of Michigan football head coach Lloyd Carr (1995-2007) will be one of three inductees to headline its Rose Bowl Hall of Fame Class of 2013.

Former Ohio State offensive tackle Orlando Pace and former USC wide receiver Lynn Swann will also be installed at the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony supported by Wells Fargo at noon on Sunday, Dec. 30, at the Pasadena Convention Center.

"In such a special year for the 100th Rose Bowl Game, we are delighted to induct a group of distinguished individuals," said Tournament of Roses Executive Director Bill Flinn. "They truly personify the qualities that have become synonymous with our game."

Carr completed his 13-year head coaching career at Michigan with a 122-40 record, five Big Ten Conference titles and the 1997 national championship. He led the Wolverines to six 10-win seasons. Carr trails only Fielding H. Yost (165-29-10) and Bo Schembechler (194-48-5) in career victories at Michigan.

Carr boasts the conference's third-best overall winning percentage at 77.9 percent (81-23) and trails only his mentor, Schembechler (.850), and Yost (.786) in all-time winning percentage. Carr's teams finished no lower than third place in the league during his final 11 seasons.

Carr, who was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2011, is only the eighth coach in Big Ten history to claim five or more championships. He was a part of 13 Big Ten championship teams during his U-M tenure, eight as an assistant and the five as head coach (1997, 1998, 2000, 2003 and 2004). Carr led the Wolverines to the 1997 national championship, the school's first title in 49 years, with a 21-16 victory over Washington State in the 1998 Rose Bowl.

Prior to being elevated to head coach, Carr was an assistant coach for 15 seasons under Schembechler (1980-89) and Gary Moeller (1990-94). He joined Schembechler's staff as the defensive secondary coach, which he served for seven seasons, prior to being promoted to defensive coordinator (1987-94) for three seasons under Schembechler and all five seasons with Moeller. Carr also served as assistant head coach for Moeller. He is second to only Bennie Oosterbaan (31 years; 20 years as an assistant and 11 years as head coach) in years of service to the nation's winningest college football program.

The Rose Bowl Hall of Fame was established in 1989 to pay tribute to members of the Rose Bowl Game who have contributed to the history and excitement of the game, and those who embody the highest level of passion, strength, tradition and honor associated with "The Granddaddy of Them All®."

Over the past 24 years, a total of 110 inductees have been added to the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame. Inductees are honored with a permanent plaque that includes their name and year of induction at The Court of Champions at the Rose Bowl Stadium and are announced on the field during the 100th Rose Bowl Game.

Last year, former U-M quarterback Brian Griese (1993-97) was enshrined into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame as a member of the Class of 2012.

Media Contact: Justin Dickens, Zach Eisendrath (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.