Gallon Voted MVP, Others Honored at Football Bust
Jeremy Gallon

Dec. 9, 2013

LIVONIA, Mich. -- The University of Michigan Club of Greater Detroit held the 93rd annual football bust Monday evening (Dec. 9) at the Laurel Manor in Livonia, where the 2013 team awards were announced, and the senior football student-athletes received their coveted 'M' rings. In addition to Team 134 being recognized, members from the 1997 National Championship team were honored.

Fifth-year senior wide receiver Jeremy Gallon (Apopka, Fla./Apopka) was voted by his teammates as the BO SCHEMBECHLER MOST VALUABLE PLAYER. Gallon, an All-Big Ten second-team selection by the coaches and media this year, has had a record-setting season for the Maize and Blue, recording 80 catches for 1,284 yards and nine touchdowns. Gallon, who is 47 yards shy of setting the school's single-season mark for receiving yards, had a conference- and school-record 369 yards receiving against Indiana on Oct. 19. Gallon has a reception in 38 consecutive games, tying former wide receiver Braylon Edwards' school record.

Three seniors, wide receivers Drew Dileo (Greenwell Springs, La./Parkview Baptist) and Joe Reynolds (Rochester, Mich./Rochester Adams) and linebacker Cameron Gordon (Detroit, Mich./Inkster), received the ROBERT P. UFER BEQUEST award as the seniors who demonstrated the most enthusiasm and love for Michigan. Reynolds also received the DR. ARTHUR D. ROBINSON SCHOLARSHIP AWARD as the leading senior scholar on the team. Reynolds holds a 3.7 grade-point average and will graduate in December with a degree in Spanish.

Fifth-year senior offensive tackle Taylor Lewan (Scottsdale, Ariz./Chaparral) received the HUGH H. RADER JR. MEMORIAL AWARD as the team's top offensive lineman for the second consecutive year. Lewan, a two-time Big Ten Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year, was voted to the All-Big Ten first team by the league's coaches and media. A four-year starter, Lewan has made 39 consecutive starts at left tackle.

Senior/junior Jake Ryan (Westlake Ohio/St. Ignatius) received the ROGER ZATKOFF AWARD as the team's top linebacker for the second straight year. Ryan, a defensive team captain who returned in October following a spring ACL tear, totaled 26 tackles, four stops for losses and a pass breakup in his final seven games.

Junior defensive end Frank Clark (Cleveland, Ohio/Glenville) received the RICHARD KATCHER AWARD as U-M's top defensive lineman. Clark led the Wolverines' defensive linemen with a career-best 42 tackles, while he led the team with 12 tackles-for-losses, 4.5 sacks and two fumble recoveries.

Following are the 2013 University of Michigan football team award winners:

Bo Schembechler MVP: Jeremy Gallon
Dr. Arthur D. Robinson Scholarship Award: Joe Reynolds
Hugh R. Rader Memorial Award: Taylor Lewan
Roger Zatkoff Award: Jake Ryan
Robert P. Ufer Bequest: Drew Dileo, Cameron Gordon and Joe Reynolds
Richard Katcher Award: Frank Clark
Captains Award: Courtney Avery, Cameron Gordon, Taylor Lewan and Jake Ryan

Media Contact: Justin Dickens (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.