Robinson Voted Team MVP for Second Straight Season
Denard Robinson

Dec. 12, 2011

Past Award Winners

LIVONIA, Mich. -- The University of Michigan Club of Greater Detroit held the 91st annual football bust Monday evening (Dec. 12) at the Laurel Manor in Livonia where the 2011 team awards were announced and the senior football student-athletes received their coveted 'M' rings. Junior quarterback Denard Robinson (Deerfield Beach, Fla./Deerfield Beach HS) was voted as the BO SCHEMBECHLER MOST VALUABLE PLAYER for the second consecutive year and was one of seven players to receive individual recognition.

Robinson helped lead the Wolverines to a 10-2 mark and a 6-2 record in the Big Ten Conference. He completed 133-of-237 passes for 2,056 yards and 18 touchdowns while rushing 208 times for a team-leading 1,163 yards and 16 touchdowns. Overall, his 34 touchdowns on the season marked a career best. Robinson now ranks eighth in U-M annals with 4,814 passing yards and eighth with 3,216 rushing yards. His 38 passing touchdowns rank sixth and his 35 rushing touchdowns rank fifth. Robinson was also named to the All-Big Ten second team by the media.

Fifth-year senior defensive lineman Will Heininger (Ann Arbor, Mich./Pioneer HS) received the DR. ARTHUR D. ROBINSON SCHOLARSHIP AWARD as the leading senior scholar on the team. Heininger is a four-time Academic All-Big Ten Conference choice and was a Capital One Academic All-District selection this season. A two-time Big Ten Distinguished Scholar who is enrolled in the School of Kinesiology, Heininger is majoring in sport management with a minor in economics. He started all 12 games in 2011, totaling 23 tackles, four for losses, and one sack.

Fifth-year senior center David Molk (Lemont, Ill./Lemont Township HS) received the HUGH H. RADER JR. MEMORIAL AWARD as the team's top offensive lineman. Molk shared the award with Stephen Schilling last season. A four-year starter, Molk has opened 41 career games at center for Michigan. In 2011, Molk has started all 12 games and received the Rimington Trophy and All-America first team by the Walter Camp Football Foundation and Football Writers Association of America. Molk also was named All-Big Ten first team by the league's coaches and received the inaugural Big Ten Rimington/Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year award. Molk and the offensive line surrendered just 15 sacks in 2011, while the offense averaged 34.2 points per game (second in the Big Ten), 235.7 rushing yards per game (second in Big Ten; 12th in the FBS) and 423.1 yards per game (third in conference).

The Wolverines' leading tackler, senior/junior Kenny Demens (Oak Park, Mich./Detroit Country Day HS) received the ROGER ZATKOFF AWARD as the team's top linebacker. Demens totaled a career-best 86 tackles, five for losses, and three sacks in 12 starts at middle linebacker in 2011. Demens had a season-best 12 tackles in the Wolverines' comeback victory over Notre Dame.

Fifth-year senior defensive end Ryan Van Bergen (Whitehall, Mich./Whitehall HS) and senior tight end Kevin Koger (Toledo, Ohio/Whitmer HS) received the ROBERT P. UFER BEQUEST as the seniors who demonstrated the most enthusiasm and love for Michigan. Van Bergen started 11 of 12 games and had a career-best 41 tackles, 12 tackles-for-losses and three fumble recoveries while tying a career best with five sacks and four pass breakups. Van Bergen was named Big Ten Co-Defensive Player of the Week for his seven-tackle, 2.5-sack performance at Illinois. Koger notched career-best totals with 21 receptions for 235 yards and four touchdowns in 2011. A team offensive captain, Koger tied a career high with four receptions and had 40 receiving yards and a touchdown in the Wolverines' 40-34 victory over Ohio State.

Senior defensive tackle Mike Martin (Redford, Mich./Catholic Central HS) received the RICHARD KATCHER AWARD as U-M's top defensive lineman for the third consecutive year. Martin had a career-best 54 tackles, 5.5 for losses, three sacks and one safety to help lead the defensive line. The defensive team captain was also named All-Big Ten second team by the league's coaches and media.

Following are the 2011 University of Michigan football team award winners:

Bo Schembechler MVP: Denard Robinson
Dr. Arthur D. Robinson Scholarship Award: Will Heininger
Hugh R. Rader Memorial Award: David Molk
Roger Zatkoff Award: Kenny Demens
Robert P. Ufer Bequest: Ryan Van Bergen and Kevin Koger
Richard Katcher Award: Mike Martin

Media Contact: Justin Dickens (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about ticket packs and individual game tickets for the 2017 Michigan football season.