Kim Named to Ben Hogan Award Watch List

Feb. 19, 2011

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan senior Lion Kim (Lake Mary, Fla./Lake Mary HS) was one of 26 collegiate men's golfers named to the watch list for the 2011 Ben Hogan Award. Kim is one of four Big Ten golfers named to the list along with Illinois' Luke Guthrie and Scott Langley and Iowa's Vince India.

The most prestigious award in men's college golf, the Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period.

Kim continues to lead the Wolverines in his final season. In five events this season, Kim has compiled three top-10 finishes, including his first collegiate win at the 2010 Windon Memorial Classic. He is on pace to set a U-M record with his 71.27 scoring average and has shot 10 of 15 rounds under par. In July, Kim won the 85th U.S. Amateur Public Links Championship, which earned him an invitation to the Masters in April.

The Hogan Award semifinalists will be announced April 14. The three finalists will be invited to Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, for the Hogan Award presentation on the evening of May 16.

Hogan Award Watch List

Blayne Barber, Auburn
Patrick Cantlay, UCLA
Bud Cauley, Alabama
Alex Ching, San Diego
David Chung, Stanford
Harris English, Georgia
J.T. Griffin, Georgia Tech
Luke Guthrie, Illinois
Russell Henley, Georgia
Morgan Hoffmann, Oklahoma State
Bobby Hudson, Texas
Vince India, Iowa
Lion Kim, Michigan
Scott Langley, Illinois
Tain Lee, Claremont McKenna
Gregor Main, UCLA
Henrik Norlander, Augusta State
John Peterson, LSU
Andrew Putnam, Pepperdine
Patrick Reed, Augusta State
Kevin Tway, Oklahoma State
Peter Uihlein, Oklahoma State
Bank Vongvanij, Florida
Pontus Widegren, UCLA
Bobby Wyatt, Alabama
Andrew Yun, Stanford

Contact: Tom Wywrot (734) 763-4423