Thompson Receives Division I PING All-Region Recognition
Matt Thompson

May 30, 2012

SANTA MONICA, Calif. -- The Golf Coaches Association of America announced today (Thursday, May 30) that University of Michigan senior men's golfer Matt Thompson (Battle Creek, Mich./Lakeview HS) was named to the Division I PING All-Midwest Region team for the third straight season.

Thompson recently concluded his Michigan career playing in his fourth straight NCAA Regional, tying for 19th at the Ann Arbor Regional held at the U-M Golf Course.

In his final season, he was an All-Big Ten second team selection for the second time in his career, earned all-tournament team honors for the second time at the Big Ten Championships, was U-M men's golf All-Big Ten Sportsmanship honoree and was a three-time Big Ten Golfer of the Week.

He was the top finishing Wolverine in nine of the 12 events, with five top-10 finishes and four top-five. He won his first collegiate tournament (the Windon Memorial Classic) with a five-under 205, which is the second-lowest 54-hole total in U-M history. He also finished as the medalist runner-up at the Bridgestone Intercollegiate and third at the Big Ten Championships.

With his 72.06 season average, he posted the second-best single-season average for a Wolverine in the stroke-play era. He already held the all-time record with a 72.00 average in 2009-10. Overall, Thompson finished his career as U-M's all-time leader in scoring average with a 72.79 per-round mark.

He closed his career playing in 49 career events, with 46 starts -- including a consecutive start streak of 43 events. He finished his career with 27 top-20 finishes, 13 top-10 and seven top-five, including one win at the 2011 Windon Memorial Classic.

2012 Division I PING All-Midwest Region
Chris Brant, Iowa
Charlie Bull, Akron
Eric Chun, Northwestern
Corey Conners, Kent State
Justin Dorward, Louisville
Tyler Duncan, Purdue
Dan Ellis, Michigan State
Luke Guthrie, Illinois
Mackenzie Hughes, Kent State
Steven Ihm, Iowa
Mason Jacobs, Illinois
Barrett Kelpin, Iowa
Sebastian MacLean, Xavier
Tyler Merkel, Ball State
Kevin Miller, Kent State
David Mills, Indiana
Taylor Pendrith, Kent State
Jack Perry, Northwestern
Thomas Pieters, Illinois
Alex Redfield, Ohio State
Max Scodro, Notre Dame
Matt Thompson, Michigan
Erik Van Rooyen, Minnesota
Ian Vandersee, Iowa
Chase Wright, Indiana

Contact: Tom Wywrot (734) 763-4423