U-M Alum Chapman Wins Michigan Amateur Championship
Andrew Chapman

June 22, 2013

Michigan Amateur | Match Play Bracket

MUSKEGON, Mich. -- With the match still on the line heading into the 18th hole, former University of Michigan men's golfer Andrew Chapman (1999-2002) drained a 20-foot birdie putt today (Saturday, June 22) to win the hole against former U-M baseball standout Mike Ignasiak. After winning that hole, Chapman claimed the 2013 Michigan Amateur Championship with a 1-up total at the Muskegon Country Club and became the 15th Wolverine to win the state amateur title. It also marks the 25th overall U-M victory in the 102-year history of the state's amateur tournament.

Chapman was close to pulling away to win with a 2-up lead after 15 holes, but on 16 he hit his drive in the festuca left and eventually lost the hole before hitting a drive left again on No. 17, where he three-putted, evening the match.

On the final hole, Chapman hit his second shot from the left rough to the right rough several feet down a slope to the right of the green on the 550-yard par-5 final hole. He pitched it to 20 feet and made the putt on a line similar to that of Ignasiak, who had approximately an 18-foot putt after his second shot from the fairway landed over the green a few yards. Ignasiak just missed his putt to the right of the cup.

Chapman earned the No. 32 seed after stroke play (71-80/151) and played his way to the championship with wins over No. 33 Brett Quitiquit (3-and-1), No. 1 seed Tom Werkmeister (21 holes), No. 17 seed Nikolaj Brons-Piche (2-and-1) in the Sweet 16, No. 41 Nate Golomb (4-and-2) in the quarterfinal and No. 12 Brad Bastion (3-and-2) in the semifinal.

Other U-M golfers playing in the Michigan Amateur included incoming freshman Reed Hrynewich (Muskegon, Mich./Mona Shores HS), who earned the No. 5 seed (72-73/145) and breezed through his first match over Charlie Olson, 5-and-4, before losing to No. 28 Casey Baker in 19 holes in the second round. Current Wolverine Andrew Yeager (Grand Rapids, Mich./Forest Hills Central HS) was the No. 30 seed (75-76/151) for match play and beat No. 35 Jeff Champine, 4-and-2, before losing to Ignasiak, 4-and-2.


2013 Michigan Amateur Champion Andrew Chapman
On winning the Michigan Amateur Championship ... "It means a lot to me to win this tournament. It's a huge highlight. It's going to take me a few days for it all to sink in. After each match, it felt so surreal."

On playing against fellow U-M alum Mike Ignasiak ... "It was a great match. It was back and forth; it took both of us a little while to settle in. We had a nice gallery out there. We had some nerves in the beginning, and we certainly didn't have our best, but we played some really good golf in spots. It was really fun. Mike is a great guy. It was funny, when I showed him my marked golf ball, which I mark with two dots and a line reminding me of my two twin boys. Mike had three dots on his, which represents his three kids. He's really a great guy. I couldn't have asked for a better guy to spend the last four hours with. I was just fortunate enough to make my putt on the last hole."

On the match coming down to the final hole ... "He (Mike) was really in the driver's seat, hit a great drive on No. 18, and I tried to cut mine, and it didn't cut. I was a little blocked out and tried to hook a six iron, but it stayed out to the right but was able to get my pitch shot to stop where I could have a flat spot to run at it; just fortunate to make it. The greens were really slick. If you would have told me before the match started that we would be standing on hole No. 18 all squared, I would have taken it. It was a great match, back and forth and a hard-fought battle between both of us."

On using this as a turnaround to his amateur career ... "Three and half years ago, I got as low as I've ever been in golf. I played in a U.S. qualifier, and I played so horribly that I was wondering if I would receive a letter from them asking me not to play again in one of their qualifiers. Scott Hebert, director of golf at the Grand Traverse Resort and Spa, really helped me turn things around."

2013 Michigan Amateur Runner-Up Mike Ignasiak
On the final match against Andrew Chapman ... "I'm delirious. That is just grueling. It was a hard day out there today. It was a test of patience. Andrew was just a little bit better in his short game than I was today. He made some great up and downs, the one on No. 18 was terrific. I tried, and I didn't give up. I made it to the finals; on the back nine, we turned it back on. I told my caddie when I was two down that I could win the next three holes; I won No. 16 and No. 17 to bring the match to No 18. Major accomplishments; Andrew is a very strong player. He's the only one in this field that I could stand to lose to; he's such a nice guy."

On playing confident golf ... "For the last month and half, I've been playing the best golf of my life. I really felt in my mind that I was the guy to beat when we got to the Sweet 16 matches. I felt like I was hitting the ball so solid, and I felt so confident."

On what he is going to do now ... "Take my shoes off and rest is what's next for me. I have the U.S. Publinx Championship in Washington in a couple weeks and then on to the GAM Championship in August."


• The last time the Michigan Amateur was played at the Muskegon Country Club former Wolverine Christian Vozza (2003-06) claimed the title.

• Andrew Chapman is the 15th Wolverine to win the Michigan Amateur title. Overall, it is the 25th title for a U-M golfer in the 102-year history of the event.

• Andrew Chapman is currently a financial planner in Traverse City, Mich.

• Mike Ignasiak is a former U-M baseball pitcher who earned four letters (1985-88). He spent part of four seasons with the Milwaukee Brewers (1991, 1993-95). He currently resides in Saline, Mich.

U-M's Michigan Amateur Champions
David Ward, 1926, 1936
Chuck Kocsis, 1930, 1933, 1934, 1937, 1948, 1951
William Barclay, 1939
Ben Smith, 1950
Melvin Stevens, 1959, 1963, 1965
William Newcomb, 1967
Randy Erskine, 1972
Rod Sumpter, 1974
John Morse, 1978
Steve Maddelena, 1980, 1990, 1995
John Morgan, 1985
Andy Matthews, 2001
Christian Vozza, 2005
Joey Garber, 2010
Andrew Chapman, 2013

Contact: Tom Wywrot (734) 763-4423