U-M Places First in Inaugural Arnold Invitational
Stacey Ervin

March 1, 2014

Complete Results PDF

Site: Columbus, Ohio (Columbus Convention Center)
Event: Arnold Invitational
U-M Team Standing: 1st Place of 6 Teams (437.50)
Next U-M Meet: Friday, March 7 -- at Puerto Rico, vs. Penn State (San Juan, Puerto Rico), 6 p.m. AST

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The No. 2-ranked University of Michigan men's gymnastics squad (15-0) took first at the first-ever Arnold Invitational with a team score of 437.50 on Saturday (March 1) at the Columbus Convention Center. Wolverines took home individual-event wins in five of six events on the day as U-M remained undefeated on the season.

Graduate student Syque Caesar (Port St. Lucie, Fla./Lincoln Park Academy) claimed a pair of event titles on the day, beginning with a win on parallel bars with a 15.55. He followed with a pristine routine on high bar for a 15.80.

Also taking home titles were junior Stacey Ervin (Taylor, Mich./Truman), who marked a 15.80 on floor in the first rotation. Rotation two saw U-M head to pommel horse, where senior Dylan James (Valencia, Calif./William S. Hart) scored a 15.15 for first place, while classmate Matt Freeman (Canton, Mich./Plymouth) took third with a 15.05.

On vault, freshman Tristian Perez-Rivera (Caguas, Puerto Rico/Notre Dame) tallied a 15.10, while Caesar led an event sweep on parallel bars with his 15.55. Ervin took second on the event (15.00), while junior Nick Hunter (Canfield, Ohio/Canfield) placed third with a 14.95.

Caesar closed out the event wins for U-M in the final rotation, scoring 15.80.

The Wolverines will return to action during its annual Spring Break trip on Friday (March 7), as the team heads to San Juan, Puerto Rico, to compete against the Puerto Rican National Team and Penn State. Meet time is slated for 5 p.m. EST.

Ohio State70.15073.30072.05072.00069.65072.350429.500
Canadian National Team67.30063.35068.35069.95066.00066.350401.300
Arizona State70.55063.55066.50069.20065.80065.450401.050

Event-by-Event U-M Individual Scores

Jordan Gaarenstroom   13.70
Hub Humphrey          13.50
Tristian Perez-Rivera 14.80
Syque Caesar          14.65
Stacey Ervin          15.80 (1)
Nick Hunter           14.50
Matt Freeman          15.05 (3)
A.J. Schottstaedt     14.60
Nolan Novak           14.30
Dylan James           15.15 (1)
STILL RINGS (74.40)  
Colin Mahar           14.55
Paul Rizkalla Jr.     14.45
Matt Freeman          15.10 (4)
Jordan Gaarenstroom   15.20 (3)
Alex Bubnov           15.10 (4)
VAULT (73.15)  
Syque Caesar          14.75
Konner Ackerman       14.40
Stacey Ervin          14.45
Tristian Perez-Rivera 15.10 (1)
Paul Rizkalla Jr.     14.45
Mark Panhorst         14.30
Jordan Gaarenstroom   14.40
Nick Hunter           14.95 (3)
Syque Caesar          15.55 (1)
Stacey Ervin          15.00 (2)
HIGH BAR (70.30)
Matt Freeman          13.75
Konner Ackerman       13.95
Nick Hunter           13.30
Syque Caesar          15.80 (1)
Stacey Ervin          13.50

»  Beginning with the 2017 season, entry to regular-season home events will be free of charge.