Mikulak Big Ten Gymnast of the Year; Golder Coach of the Year
Kurt Golder (L) and Sam Mikulak

March 29, 2014

Complete Results | Photo Gallery 
Paul Rizkalla Jr. video icon (Facebook)

Site: Lincoln, Neb. (Bob Devaney Sports Center)
Event: Big Ten Championships (Individual Finals)
U-M Team Result: No team scoring
Next U-M Meet: Thu-Sat., April 10-12 -- host NCAA Championships (Crisler Center), 7 p.m.

LINCOLN, Neb. -- University of Michigan senior men's gymnast Sam Mikulak (Corona del Mar, Calif./Corona del Mar) took home his third Big Ten Gymnast of the Year award, while head coach Kurt Golder was named Coach of the Year for the fourth time on Saturday (April 29) at the individual-event finals of the Big Ten Championships inside the Bob Devaney Sports Center.

Mikulak becomes the third athlete (John Roethlisberger, Blaine Wilson) to claim three Big Ten Gymnast of the Year honors since the award's inception in 1988. It is the second occasion that Golder has earned the award in back-to-back seasons, as he previously garnered the accolades in the 1999 and 2000 seasons.

A meet-high 11 members of the Big Ten champion Wolverines competed in 20 routines, while Tristian Perez-Rivera (Caguas, Puerto Rico/Notre Dame), junior Paul Rizkalla Jr. (Westfield, N.J./Westfield) and graduate student Syque Caesar (Port St. Lucie, Fla./Lincoln Park Academy) earned All-Big Ten second team honors. Perez-Rivera scored a 15.325 on floor, while Rizkalla scored a 15.225 on vault to earn second-placed finishes. Caesar tied for third place on parallel bars with a 15.200.

Also earning a top-five finish in the first rotation was senior Alex Bubnov (Fanwood, N.J./Scotch Plains-Fanwood), who marked a 15.325 on still rings to take fourth.

Mikulak turns his attention to the 2014 CGA Nissen-Emery Award Ceremony, a plaudit that is awarded to the top gymnast in the country. He is seeking to become the first U-M winner of the award since Justin Toman in 2002.

U-M will now look to defend its 2013 NCAA championship on home soil, as the Wolverines will play host to the 2014 NCAA Championships from April 10-12 at Crisler Center. Team qualification commences on Thursday (April 10), as U-M will be competing in the night session at 7 p.m. This will be the third time U-M has hosted a men's gymnastics national championships. Michigan also hosted the event in 1951 and 1971, with the latter held at Crisler.

Tickets are available for purchase online, by phone (734-764-0247 or 866-296-MTIX) and at the Michigan Athletics Ticket Office, located in Marie Hartwig Building at 1100 South State Street.

• Day 1 Recap: Back-to-Back Champs: U-M, Mikulak Win Big Ten Conference Crowns

Event Winners/U-M Finishers

 1. Chandler Eggleston, ILL        15.725
 2. Tristian Perez-Rivera, U-M     15.325
 3. Sam Mikulak, U-M               15.250
 1. Ellis Mannon, MINN             15.325
 6. Nick Hunter, U-M               14.500
 7. Matt Freeman, U-M              14.175
 9. Sam Mikulak, U-M               13.975
10. Nolan Novak, U-M               13.375
 1. Trevor Howard, PSU             15.825
 4. Alex Bubnov, U-M               15.325
 7. Jordan Gaarenstroom, U-M       15.150
 8. Colin Mahar, U-M               15.050
 1. Jake Martin, OSU               15.300
 2. Paul Rizkalla Jr., U-M         15.225
 4. Sam Mikulak, U-M               14.925
 6. Konner Ackerman, U-M           14.675
T7. Syque Caesar, U-M              14.650
    Tristian Perez-Rivera, U-M     14.650
 1. Sean Melton, OSU               15.600
T3. Syque Caesar, U-M              15.200
    Sam Mikulak, U-M               15.200
 6. Nick Hunter, U-M               15.050
10. Jordan Gaarenstroom, U-M       13.775
 1. Sean Melton, OSU               15.375
 5. Syque Caesar, U-M              14.750
 8. Sam Mikulak, U-M               14.300


• The second-team honor for Syque Caesar is his third All-Big Ten accolade, as he has two first-team honors already to his name.

Sam Mikulak is now a four-time All-Big Ten first teamer.

• The awards for Paul Rizkalla Jr. and Tristian Perez-Rivera are the first of their careers.


First Team All-Big Ten: Sam Mikulak
Big Ten Champions: Sam Mikulak (All-Around)
Big Ten Gymnast of the Year: Sam Mikulak
Big Ten Coach of the Year: Kurt Golder
U-M Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Winner: Adrian de los Angeles
Second Team All-Big Ten: Tristian Perez-Rivera, Paul Rizkalla Jr., Syque Caesar


Coach of the Year
Kurt Golder (Michigan)

Freshman of the Year
Sean Melton (Ohio State)

Gymnast of the Year
Sam Mikulak (Michigan)

First Team All-Big Ten
Chandler Eggleston (Illinois)
Trevor Howard (Penn State)
Sam Mikulak (Michigan)
Sean Melton (Ohio State)
Jake Martin (Ohio State)
C.J. Maestas (Illinois)
Trevor Howard (Penn State)
Ellis Mannon (Minnesota)

Second Team All-Big Ten
Tristian Perez-Rivera (Michigan)
Craig Hernandez (Penn State)
Chad Mason (Illinois)
Robbie Kocks (Nebraska)
Paul Rizkalla Jr. (Michigan)
Zack Chase (Minnesota)
Jordan Valdez (Illinois)
Syque Caesar (Michigan)

Sportsmanship Award Winners
C.J. Maestas (Illinois)
Mark Springett (Iowa)
Adrian de los Angeles (Michigan)
Yoshi Morinishi (Minnesota)
C.J. Schaaf (Nebraska)
Alex Johnson (Ohio State)
Preston Gall (Penn State)