Three Wolverines Claim Big Ten Individual Event Titles
Stacey Ervin

April 6, 2013

Photo Gallery  | Highlights video icon
Postmeet Interview (YouTube):Syque Caesarvideo icon

Site: Minneapolis, Minn. (Sports Pavilion)
Event: Big Ten Championships (Individual Finals)
U-M Team Result: No team scoring
Next U-M Meet: Fri-Sun., April 19-21 -- at NCAA Championships (State College, Pa.)

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. -- The No. 3-ranked University of Michigan men's gymnastics team captured three Big Ten individual crowns, in addition to Big Ten Gymnast of the Year in junior Sam Mikulak (Corona del Mar, Calif./Corona del Mar) and Big Ten Coach of the Year in Kurt Golder in the Big Ten Championship Individual Event Finals on Saturday (April 6) at Minnesota's Sports Pavilion.

Senior Syque Caesar (Port St. Lucie, Fla./Lincoln Park Academy) won his second career Big Ten parallel bar title with a with a 15.025 after previously earning the title in 2011, while sophomore Stacey Ervin (Troy, Mich./Truman) won his first Big Ten title on floor after notching a 15.80. All three gymnasts were named to the first-team All-Big Ten squad, in addition to sophomore Adrian de los Angeles (Long Beach, Calif./Millikan), who earned a spot on the squad for placing second in the all-around competition on day one.

Ervin gave U-M its first title on floor. The sophomore scored a 15.80 to become the 11th Wolverine to capture a Big Ten title on the exercise and the first since Chris Cameron in 2010.

A pair of Wolverines took third on their respective events in the first rotation, as Mikulak showed out on floor (15.40), along with junior Matt Freeman (Canton, Mich./Plymouth), scored a 15.375.

On high bar in rotation two, Mikulak made it three high bar titles in a row for the Wolverines, scoring a 15.7000 to successfully defend his 2012 Big Ten Title on the event. Current program assistant Ian Makowske (2008-11) captured the crown in 2011.

Caesar's excellence on parallel bars was followed by Ervin, who scored a 14.800 for second place. Mikulak, took seventh on the event with a 14.425, a night after establishing the NCAA record on the event.

The Coach of the Year award is Golder's third of his career, as he previously captured the award in back-to-back seasons in 1999 and 2000, while Mikulak's Gymnast of the Year award is the second of his career, as he won the distinction as a freshman in 2011.

Michigan returns to action at the 2013 NCAA Championships (April 19-21) hosted by Penn State University. Day one of the championships will feature team qualification, as the NCAA event qualifier will be held at either 1 p.m. or 7 p.m. EDT.

Event-By-Event U-M Individual Scores

Nolan Novak             14.300 (7)
Adrian de los Angeles   13.750 (8)
Syque Caesar            13.400 (10)
Stacey Ervin            15.800 (1)
Sam Mikulak             15.400 (3)
Matt Freeman            15.375 (3)
Rohan Sebastian         14.900 (6)
Adrian de los Angeles   14.750 (5)
Sam Mikulak             15.225 (2)
Konner Ackerman         13.700 (10)
Stacey Ervin            14.25  (7)
Stacey Ervin            14.800 (2)
Syque Caesar            15.025 (1)
Adrian de los Angeles   13.375 (10)
Sam Mikulak             14.425 (7)
Michael Strathern       13.750 (8)
Sam Mikulak             15.700 (1)
Syque Caesar            14.450 (5)

First Team All-Big Ten: Sam Mikulak, Stacey Ervin, Syque Caesar, Adrian de los Angeles
Big Ten Champions: Sam Mikulak (high bar, all-around), Stacey Ervin (floor exercise), Syque Caesar (parallel bars)
Big Ten Gymnast of the Year: Sam Mikulak
Big Ten Coach of the Year: Kurt Golder
U-M Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Winner: Stacey Ervin

Team Finals Results


• For the second straight year, Sam Mikulak won a pair of championships, this year coming in the all-around and on high bar after taking home parallel and high bar titles in 2012.

• Michigan had eight gymnasts in the event titles and occupied 18 of the 60 spots in individual event finals, the most of any team in competition.

Contact: Scott Kemps (734) 763-4423

»  Beginning with the 2017 season, entry to regular-season home events will be free of charge.