Michigan Secures Runner-Up at Big Ten Championships
Sam Mikulak

April 7, 2012

Complete Results | Photo Gallery  | Highlights

Site: Carver-Hawkeye Arena (Iowa City, Iowa)
Event: Big Ten Championships (Team & All-Around Finals)
Record: U-M (12-7, 7-2 Big Ten)
U-M Team Standing: 2nd Place of 7 Teams (351.850)
Next U-M Meet: Saturday, April 7 -- at Big Ten Championships - Individual Event Finals (Iowa City, Iowa), 7 p.m. CDT

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The No. 8-ranked University of Michigan men's gymnastics team overtook Penn State in the final rotation for a second-place finish at the team and all-around finals of the Big Ten Championships with a season-best 351.850 on Friday (April 6) at Carver-Hawkeye Arena. Sophomore Sam Mikulak (Corona del Mar, Calif./Corona del Mar) and freshman Adrian de los Angeles (Long Beach, Calif./Millikan) took second and fourth in the all-around, respectively. Illinois won the conference title (352.950).

The Wolverines opened the night on high bar and scored a 57.90. Mikulak tallied a 14.85, even after a fall midway through his routine. De los Angeles was second on the U-M squad with a 14.60, while freshman Taylor Harrower (Dublin, Ohio/Dublin Coffman) scored a career-best 14.30 on the apparatus.

The Wolverines then moved to the floor exercise, where a pair of freshmen in Stacey Ervin (Taylor, Mich./Truman) and de los Angeles paced U-M, as Ervin scored a 15.20, while de los Angeles added a 15.10 for third and fourth place, respectively. Michigan, the No. 3-ranked team in the country in the event, netted a 59.45.

U-M put together a season-best team score on pommel horse, where sophomore Dylan James (Valencia, Calif./ William S. Hart) scored 14.55 to lead the Maize and Blue and place fourth on the event, while sophomore Michael Myler (North Orem, Utah/ Timpanogos) scored a 14.10 to take ninth en route to a 56.80 team score. Rotation four found Michigan still rings. Mikulak paced the squad with a 14.80, while sophomore Alex Bubnov (Fanwood, N.J./ Scotch Plains-Fanwood) rose to the occasion with a career-best 14.75 as Michigan marked a 58.45.

The vault competition saw U-M score its second-best tally of the season with a 59.80; Ervin (15.20) and Mikulak (15.15) took second and third place, respectively, while de los Angeles (15.00) took eighth to advance to Saturday's individual-event finals.

Michigan entered the final rotation with a legitimate chance of claiming first place, but a team-best of 59.45 was enough to jump Penn State for the No. 2 spot but was not enough to overtake the eventual champion Illini in rotation six. Mikulak led the surge in the final rotation as he scored a 15.45 and took first, while freshman Michael Strathern (Bartlett, Ill./Bartlett) scored a career-best 14.75 and took fifth. Ervin also added a career best with a 14.70 for a seventh-place finish, while de los Angeles rounded out the U-M scorers with a 14.55.

Mikulak, de los Angeles, Ervin, James, Myler and Strathern all advanced to the individual-event finals on Saturday night (April 7). The finals will be shown live on the Big Ten Network, beginning at 7 p.m. CDT.

Team StandingsFXPHSRVTPBHBFinal
Penn State57.10057.70061.15059.25057.55057.250350.000
Ohio State57.85056.95058.25058.30057.05055.250343.650

Event-By-Event U-M Individual Scores

High Bar
Michael Myler          14.15
Rohan Sebastian        13.95
Taylor Harrower        14.30
Adrian de los Angeles  14.60 (t4)
Sam Mikulak            14.85 (1)
Michael Strathern      13.65
Hub Humphrey           12.60
Kevin Fraser           14.40
Rohan Sebastian        14.55
Adrian de los Angeles  15.10 (4)
Sam Mikulak            14.60 (t9)
Stacey Ervin           15.20 (3)
Pommel Horse
Matt Freeman           12.50
A.J. Schottstaedt      13.80
Michael Myler          14.10 (t9)
Adrian de los Angeles  14.10 (t9)x
Sam Mikulak            14.05
Dylan James            14.55 (4)
Rohan Sebastian *      13.75
Still Rings
Matt Freeman           13.85
Alex Bubnov            14.75
Jordan Gaarenstroom    14.40
Adrian de los Angeles  13.00
Rohan Sebastian        14.50
Sam Mikulak            14.80
Taylor Harrower        14.40
Michael Strathern      14.05
Stacey Ervin           15.20 (2)
Rohan Sebastian        14.45
Adrian de los Angeles  15.00 (8)
Sam Mikulak            15.15 (3)
Parallel Bars
Nick Hunter            14.15
Stacey Ervin           14.70 (t7)
Michael Strathern      14.75 (5)
Rohan Sebastian        12.65
Adrian de los Angeles  14.55
Sam Mikulak            15.45 (1)
Sam Mikulak	       88.90 (2)
Adrian de los Angeles  86.35 (5)
Rohan Sebastian        83.85 (8)
x - will not compete in event finals
* - score counts only for all-around 


• The second-place finish marks the fourth straight year that the Wolverines have finished in the top two.

• With Illinois' C.J. Maestas winning the all-around, he snaps a three-year streak of a U-M all-arounder winning the crown. He also becomes the second straight freshman to win the award, as Sam Mikulak took the win in his rookie year in 2011.

• Illinois won its fourth straight Big Ten title, becoming the first team since 1980 to accomplish the feat.

• The Wolverines entered the competition ranked fifth in the Big Ten in terms of NCAA rankings and defeated higher-ranked opponents in No. 1 Penn State, No. 6 Ohio State and No. 5 Minnesota.

Contact: Scott Kemps (734) 763-4423