Former Teammates Hagelin, Lebler Selected for Olympic Teams
Carl Hagelin (L) and Brian Lebler

Jan. 7, 2014

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- Former University of Michigan ice hockey forwards Carl Hagelin (Sweden) and Brian Lebler (Austria) were selected by their national teams on Tuesday (Jan. 7) to participate in the XXII Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia. The Olympics will run from Feb. 7-23, with ice hockey competition beginning on Feb. 8 and concluding on Feb. 23.

Hagelin (2008-11) is in his third NHL season with the New York Rangers and is second on the team with 10 goals despite missing most of October with a shoulder injury. A left wing for the Wolverines, Hagelin led the team in scoring as a junior (19-31-50) and a senior (18-31-49). He served as an alternate captain in 2009-10 when U-M won the CCHA Tournament. He was a co-captain for the 2010-11 squad that captured the CCHA regular-season title and finished as the NCAA Tournament runner-up. In 2011, Hagelin was named an Old Time Hockey West All-America second team honoree, the CCHA Best Defensive Forward, an All-CCHA first teamer and a finalist for the CCHA Player of the Year.

Lebler (2007-10), a native of Penticton, B.C., has both Canadian and Austrian citizenship. He is in his third season with Linz EHC in the Austrian Hockey League (Erste Bank Eishockey Liga) and leads the team with 26 goals on the season. Lebler helped Michigan win the CCHA Tournament in 2009-10, his senior season, setting career highs for goals (14), assists (10), points (24) and plus/minus (+9). He received the team's Joseph E. Barss Award as the best team player as decided by the coaching staff.

Hagelin, Lebler and Max Pacioretty (United States) will represent Michigan in men's ice hockey at the 2014 Olympics. All three players were teammates on the 2007-08 University of Michigan men's hockey team that finished the season 33-6-4, winning CCHA regular-season and tournament titles en route to a Frozen Four appearance.

Only once before have three current or former Michigan hockey players participated in the same Olympic Games -- the 1956 Winter Olympics in Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy -- when Willard Ikola and John Matchefts skated for the United States and Bob White skated for Canada.


United States
1956 - Willard Ikola (silver)
1956 - John Matchefts (silver)
1988 - Jeff Norton
1994 - David Roberts
2006 - Mike Knuble
2010 - Jack Johnson (silver)

1956 - Bob White (bronze)
1992 - Todd Brost (silver)
1994 - David Harlock (silver)
2006 - Marty Turco

»  Learn about Michigan ice hockey season tickets for the 2017-18 season.