Michigan Alum Hagelin Earns Olympic Silver Medal with Sweden
Carl Hagelin

Feb. 23, 2014

U-M at the Olympics | Olympic Ice Hockey Updates

SOCHI, Russia -- Sweden forward Carl Hagelin became the seventh University of Michigan ice hockey alumnus to win an Olympic medal, earning silver today (Sunday, Feb. 23) as Sweden fell to Canada, 3-0, in the gold medal game at the Bolshoy Ice Dome. It was Sweden's first loss of the 2014 Olympics.

Hagelin is the sixth Michigan player to earn a silver medal, joining Jack Johnson (USA, 2010), David Harlock (Canada, 1994), Todd Brost (Canada, 1992), John Matchefts (USA, 1956) and Willard Ikola (USA, 1956). Bob White won a bronze medal with Team Canada in the 1956 Olympic Games.

Playing without several key contributors, Sweden was shut out by an outstanding Canadian defensive corps and goaltender Carey Price (24 saves). Jonathan Toews (12:55, first period), Sidney Crosby (15:43, second period) and Chris Kunitz (9:04, third period) scored for Canada, which never trailed in the Olympic tournament.

Hagelin logged 16:04 of ice time and led Sweden with three shots on goal. In his first Olympic tournament, Hagelin played in all six games for Sweden and scored two goals, both in a 5-0 win over Slovenia in the quarterfinal round. He had a plus-1 rating for the tournament and averaged 10:48 of ice time.

A left wing for the Wolverines, Hagelin (2007-11) led the team in scoring as a junior (19-31-50) and a senior (18-31-49). He served as an alternate captain in 2009-10 when U-M won the CCHA Tournament. He was a co-captain for the 2010-11 squad that captured the CCHA regular-season title and finished as the NCAA Tournament runner-up. In 2011, Hagelin was named an Old Time Hockey West All-America second team honoree, the CCHA Best Defensive Forward, an All-CCHA first teamer and a finalist for CCHA Player of the Year.


United States
1956   Willard Ikola (silver)
1956   John Matchefts (silver)
1988   Jeff Norton
1994   David Roberts
2006   Mike Knuble
2010   Jack Johnson (silver)
2014   Max Pacioretty

1956   Bob White (bronze)
1992   Todd Brost (silver)
1994   David Harlock (silver)
2006   Marty Turco

2014   Brian Lebler

2014   Carl Hagelin (silver)

Contact: Jeffrey Weinstein

»  Learn about Michigan ice hockey season tickets for the 2017-18 season.