Berenson, Merrill, Hagelin Named Finalists for CCHA Awards

March 10, 2011

FARMINGTON HILLS, Mich. -- A trio of Wolverines from the University of Michigan ice hockey team are finalists for the CCHA's major awards, the league announced on Thursday afternoon (March 10). Senior forward Carl Hagelin (Sodertalje, Sweden) is one of three candidates for the RBC Player of the Year Award and could be the Best Defensive Forward as well. Freshman defenseman Jon Merrill (Brighton, Mich.) leads all CCHA players with three nominations for the league's major awards. Merrill is up for Rookie of the Year, Best Offensive Defenseman and Best Defensive Defenseman. Head coach Red Berenson rounds out Michigan's finalists as a contender for Coach of the Year.

Hagelin, a draft pick of the New York Rangers, posted a 15-22-37 line in 28 CCHA contests this season, making him the fourth-leading scorer in the league. Earlier this week, Hagelin was named to the All-CCHA first team and tabbed as U-M's representative on the CCHA Scholar-Athlete Team. He has been recognized as the CCHA Player of the Week twice this season (Jan. 24 and Feb. 21) and was selected to the All-CCHA preseason team. Overall, Hagelin leads Michigan in goals, assists and points with a 17-28-45 line. He is also Michigan's leader in plus/minus (+20) and set career highs for power-play goals (7), game-winning goals (6) and multi-point games (14). Hagelin is up against Andy Miele (forward, Miami) and Pat Nagle (goalie, Ferris State) for RBC Player of the Year and Will Acton (Lake Superior State) and Reilly Smith (Miami) for Best Defensive Forward.

Merrill, a draft pick of the New Jersey Devils, tied for the top scoring defenseman in CCHA play with 7-12-19 totals, which also tied him for fifth in scoring among all freshmen in the conference. He was assessed only six penalty minutes over the 28-game span. Overall, he leads U-M's defense corps in every major offensive category (7-14-21) and blocked shots (59). Earlier this week, Merrill was selected to the All-CCHA second team and CCHA All-Rookie Team. The two-time CCHA Rookie of the Week is up against for Kevin Kapalka (goalie, Lake Superior State) and T.J. Tynan (forward, Notre Dame) for Rookie of the Year; Torey Krug (Michigan State) and Zach Redmond (Ferris State) for Best Offensive Defenseman; and Sean Lorenz (Notre Dame) and Will Weber (Miami) for Best Defensive Defenseman of the Year.

Berenson is in the running for his third CCHA Coach of the Year award after previously winning in 1994 and 2008. He led the Wolverines to their 11th regular-season title in the past 20 years with a 20-7-1-0 record in conference play, tallying 61 points. Michigan's first-place finish -- which was clinched on the final night of regular-season play -- was a six-spot jump from the previous year. The other Coach of the Year finalists are Jeff Blashill (Western Michigan) and Jeff Jackson (Notre Dame).

The CCHA's prime individual awards will be presented at the CCHA Awards Show, which will take place at the Fox Theatre in downtown Detroit next Thursday, March 17.

Contact: Matt Trevor (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about Michigan ice hockey season tickets for the 2017-18 season.