Morrison Chosen for CCHA All-Time First Team
Brendan Morrison

March 15, 2013

FARMINGTON HILLS, Mich. -- Continuing to 'Celebrate The Legacy' in its 42nd and final season, the Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) has released the league's All-Time Team to honor the league's top performers from the past 42 seasons and the University of Michigan is represented by forward Brendan Morrison (1994-97).

A three-time All-American and the 1997 Hobey Baker Award winner, he helped lead the Michigan ice hockey program to the 1996 NCAA championship, the program's first national title since 1964 and its eighth of nine titles in the school's history of the sport. He was named the Most Outstanding Player of the 1996 Frozen Four.

Morrison was the CCHA Rookie of the Year as freshman, a two-time CCHA Player of the Year and three-time All-CCHA first team selection. Morrison helped the Wolverines claim four straight CCHA regular-season titles and three tournament crowns. He concluded his Michigan career with a school-record 284 points in 155 games (102g, 182 assists) and was selected captain in his final season at U-M.

Morrison was recently inducted into the University Of Michigan Athletic Department Hall of Honor. On Saturday, Feb. 16, he was part of the 25th induction class that included U-M swimming great Gustavo Borges (1992-95) and football standout Rob Lytle (1974-76). This is the highest honor a former student-athlete can receive from Michigan Athletics.

Morrison, who played at U-M from 1993 through 1997, is the only U-M representative on the All-CCHA team and is one of only four players selected by the league for this honor that has won the coveted Hobey Baker Trophy.

The illustrious group of 12 players, selected by a committee of coaches, administrators and media, joins the league's All-Decade teams from the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s that were selected in 2001, and the All-Decade Team from 2000-13 that was selected earlier this season.

All 12 players selected to the CCHA All-Time Team were All-Americans (eight multiple All-Americans) and graduated to professional careers, with 10 advancing to the National Hockey League (NHL).

The CCHA All-Time Team was chosen from the All-Decade first team players, Hobey Baker Award winners and All-Americans that played at least three years of college hockey. The selections were made by a committee of coaches, administrators and media that have been involved with the league for the better part of the last three decades.

Complete Awards List

»  Learn about Michigan ice hockey season tickets for the 2017-18 season.