Trouba Voted Team MVP at Annual Awards Banquet
Jacob Trouba

April 6, 2013

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- An audience of approximately 200 friends, fans and family were on hand this afternoon (Saturday, April 6) to honor the University of Michigan ice hockey team during the annual Dekers Blue Line Club banquet at Weber's Inn.

Freshman defenseman Jacob Trouba (Rochester, Mich.) took home the most hardware, receiving two of the eight team awards, including team MVP.

The CCHA's Best Offensive Defenseman, first team All-CCHA and All-CCHA Rookie honoree was named the team's Hal Downs Most Valuable Player and the Vic Heyliger Outstanding Defenseman. Trouba tallied 12 goals and 17 assists for 29 points this season.

His goals scored and point total rank best in the nation among all freshman defensemen. His 115 shots on goal are the most of any freshman defensemen in the NCAA and second most for all defensemen nationally.

His 12 goals are also the second-highest total of any freshman defenseman in U-M history, and his 29 points list third all-time best of any U-M freshman defenseman.

Sophomore Alex Guptill (Newmarket, Ontario) captured the Doc Losh Scoring Leader Award with 16 goals and 20 assists for 36 points, finishing the season on a high note with a minimum of one point in 10 of the last 11 games, including a two-goal, one-assist performance against Miami in the CCHA semifinal game at Joe Louis Arena.

Senior forward Kevin Lynch (Grosse Pointe, Mich.) was awarded the Joseph Brass True Team Player trophy. The alternate captain played in 168 career games, fourth among all Wolverine icers. He missed only two games in his entire career.

Sophomore defenseman Mike Szuma (Novi, Mich.) was the team's Alton Simms Most Improved Player. As a freshman, Szuma saw action in only three games before appearing in 29 contests this season.

Junior forward Luke Moffatt (Paradise Valley, Ariz.) was the recipient of the Carl Isaacson Academic Athlete Award. Earlier this year, Moffatt was named U-M's CCHA Scholar Athlete.

Other award winners included senior forward Jeff Rohrkemper (Grosse Pointe, Mich.) for the Howard Colby Most Sportsmanlike Award and freshman forward Cristoval 'Boo' Nieves (Baldwinsville, N.Y.) as the Most Colorful Rookie.

One of the Wolverines' best fans, Bernadette Skodack was honored with the Ray Helber Deker of the Year Award.

»  Learn about Michigan ice hockey season tickets for the 2017-18 season.