Eighteen Former Wolverines in NHL, Four in Playoffs
Max Pacioretty

April 30, 2013

Wolverines in the NHL

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The University of Michigan ice hockey team has been represented by 18 alumni in the NHL during the 2013 season, and hockey fans will have the opportunity to watch four of them continue in the Stanley Cup Playoffs. According to collegehockeyinc.com and a report by cbssports.com, there are more than 300 NHLers who once played at the NCAA level. Michigan has 18 former Wolverines playing in the NHL; only Wisconsin (20) has more and Boston College (18) matches U-M.

Representing the Maize and Blue in the playoffs is forward Andrew Cogliano (2006-07) of the Anaheim Ducks. Cogliano scored 13 goals and 23 points to help the Ducks capture their first Pacific Division title since 2007, a year when they won the Stanley Cup. Anaheim earned the No. 2 seed in the West and will face off against the Detroit Red Wings in round one.

Staying in the West, forward Andrew Ebbett (2003-06) helped the Vancouver Canucks to their fifth straight Northwest Division crown and seventh of the last nine awarded. Vancouver cruises into the postseason as a No. 3 seed and will play the San Jose Sharks first.

Rangers forward Carl Hagelin (2008-11) netted 10 goals and 24 points this season while helping the Rangers reach the postseason for the eighth time in the last nine years. The NYR earned a No. 6 seed in the East and will face off with the Washington Capitals in the opening round.

The final Wolverine continuing his quest for the Cup is Canadien Max Pacioretty (2008). The Montreal forward earned a team-best 39 points on 15 goals and 24 assists this season despite missing four games due to injury. The Habs are in the postseason in back-to-back campaigns and have only missed out twice since the 2004-05 lockout. The team captured just their second Northeast Division title since 1991-92 and earned the second seed in the East. The Ottawa Senators are up first for Montreal.

»  Learn about Michigan ice hockey season tickets for the 2017-18 season.