Big Ten Announces League Schedule for 2013-14

May 8, 2013

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The University of Michigan will host Ohio State on Friday, Nov. 29, at Yost Ice Arena in its opening game of the 2013-14 Big Ten Conference ice hockey season. The dates and opponents for the complete 60-game schedule for the inaugural season of Big Ten men's ice hockey were announced today (Wednesday, May 8) by the Big Ten office.

The conference schedule features 20-game schedules for each of the six Big Ten hockey schools: Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin.

Michigan's Nov. 29 game vs. Ohio State will be a part of the conference's opening-night doubleheader, as Minnesota will host Wisconsin in Minneapolis the same night. The Wolverines and Buckeyes will conclude their two-game series at Value City Arena on Monday, Dec. 2. Michigan does not return to Big Ten action until it travels to Wisconsin for a weekend series on Friday and Saturday, Jan. 9-10.

Even though this is the inaugural season for the new Big Ten Conference ice hockey conference, it is not the first time the Big Ten has sponsored an official championship. From 1958-59 through 1980-81, the Big Ten schools that sponsored hockey competed for Big Ten titles within their larger affiliation with the Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA). Michigan earned five Big Ten titles (1960-61, 1961-62, 1963-64, 1967-68, 1968-69) and posted a Big Ten record of 106-117-5 against MSU, Minnesota, OSU and Wisconsin during that time period.

Now, with the addition of the Penn State varsity men's ice hockey team, the Big Ten has its six-team minimum in order to sponsor a league championship.

The Wolverines had been a member of the Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) since the 1981-82 season, winning 11 regular-season titles and nine postseason championships. With the realignment in college hockey, the CCHA ceased operation after this past season.

Game times and the remainder of Michigan's 2013-14 ice hockey schedule will be announced at a later date.

The inaugural Big Ten Men's Ice Hockey Tournament will be held March 20-22, 2014, at Xcel Energy Center in Minneapolis. The tournament will feature all six teams in a single-elimination format. All-session ticket packages for the Big Ten Men's Ice Hockey Tournament are currently being sold at the Xcel Energy Center Box Office, Ticketmaster Ticket Centers, by phone at 800-745-3000 or online at More information on the tournament is available at the Big Ten site.

Date Opponent
Friday, Nov. 29 Ohio State
Monday Dec. 2 at Ohio State
Friday, Jan. 10 at Wisconsin
Saturday, Jan. 11 at Wisconsin
Friday, Jan. 24 at Michigan State
Saturday, Jan. 25 vs. Michigan State (Joe Louis Arena, Detroit, Mich.)
Friday, Jan. 31 Wisconsin
Saturday, Feb. 1 Wisconsin
Friday, Feb. 7 at Penn State
Saturday, Feb. 8 at Penn State
Feb. 13 or 15 at Minnesota
Friday, Feb. 14 at Minnesota
Friday, Feb. 21 Penn State
Saturday, Feb. 22 Penn State
Friday, Feb. 28 Ohio State
March 2 or 3 at Ohio State
Friday, March 7 Michigan State
Saturday, March 8 at Michigan State
Friday, March 14 Minnesota
Saturday, March 15 Minnesota
Big Ten Tournament (Xcel Energy Center, Saint Paul, Minn.)
Thursday, March 20 First Round
Friday, March 21 Semifinals
Saturday, March 22 Championship Game

»  Learn about Michigan ice hockey season tickets for the 2017-18 season.