Wolverines Learn Big Ten Conference Schedule for 2014-15
MGOBLUE  
MGOBLUE
 
MGOBLUE

May 22, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. -- The University of Michigan hockey team will host Penn State on Friday, Nov. 21, at Yost Ice Arena to open up the 2014-15 Big Ten Conference season. The league announced dates and opponents for the complete 60-game conference schedule today (Thursday, May 22).

Michigan's Nov. 21-22 series vs. Penn State will be part of the conference's opening weekend doubleheader, as Ohio State will host Michigan State in Columbus. Michigan's lone other Big Ten contest in 2014 will be a home game against Ohio State on Friday, Dec. 5.

The Wolverines will not return to Big Ten play until defending Big Ten regular-season champion Minnesota visits Yost Ice Arena for a weekend series Jan. 8-10, 2015. This will begin a stretch of 10 straight weekends of Big Ten contests to conclude the regular season, culminating with Senior Night at Yost Ice Arena on Saturday, March 14, against Michigan State.

Michigan finished third in the inaugural Big Ten season with a 10-8-2-1 record in conference play. The Wolverines fell to Penn State, 2-1 (2OT), in the quarterfinal round of the 2014 Big Ten Tournament. JT Compher was selected as the inaugural Big Ten Freshman of the Year, leading the team with 31 points (11G, 20A).

Compher and All-Big Ten honorable mention selection Andrew Copp (15G, 14A) highlight Michigan's returning group of forwards. Big Ten All-Freshman Team defenseman Michael Downing, and the goaltending tandem of Zach Nagelvoort (11-9-3, 2.20 GAA, .929 save percentage) and Steve Racine (7-4-1, 2.91 GAA, .912 save percentage) return to boost the Wolverines' back line.

Head coach Red Berenson returns for his 31st season behind the bench at Michigan. Berenson is second among all active Division I hockey coaches with a 788-384-84 record, with his 788 wins standing as the fourth most all-time in NCAA hockey history.

The 2015 Big Ten Tournament will feature all six teams in a single-elimination format. The tournament will be held at Joe Louis Arena in Detroit, Mich., and will run from Thursday, March 19, to Saturday, March 21. For more information on the tournament, visit BigTen.org.

2014-15 MICHIGAN BIG TEN ICE HOCKEY SCHEDULE
Date Opponent
Friday, Nov. 21 Penn State
Saturday, Nov. 22 Penn State
Friday, Dec. 5 Ohio State
Jan. 8 or 10 Minnesota
Friday, Jan. 9 Minnesota
Friday, Jan. 16 at Ohio State
Jan. 23 or 25 at Wisconsin
Saturday, Jan. 24 at Wisconsin
Friday, Jan. 30 at Michigan State
Saturday, Feb. 7 Michigan State
Feb. 12, 13 or 14 at Minnesota
Feb. 13, 14 or 15 at Minnesota
Friday, Feb. 20 at Ohio State
Sunday, Feb. 22 Ohio State
Feb. 27 or March 1 Wisconsin
Saturday, Feb. 28 Wisconsin
Friday, March 6 at Penn State
Saturday, March 7 at Penn State
Friday, March 13 at Michigan State
Saturday, March 14 Michigan State
Big Ten Tournament (Joe Louis Arena, Detroit)
Thursday, March 19 First Round
Friday, March 20 Semifinals
Saturday, March 21 Championship Game

Contact: Jeffrey Weinstein


Sign up for Michigan Insider to be the first to learn about 2014-15 Michigan ice hockey ticket opportunities.