Rangers Victory Gives Hagelin Chance at First Stanley Cup
Carl Hagelin

May 30, 2014

Wolverines in the NHL

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan ice hockey alumnus Carl Hagelin (2008-11) and the New York Rangers clinched a spot in the Stanley Cup Finals with a 1-0 win over the Montreal Canadiens in game six of the Eastern Conference Finals last night (Thursday, May 29) at Madison Square Garden.

Hagelin could join a list of eight Wolverine alumni who have lifted the Stanley Cup. He would be the first to do so since Steve Kampfer (2007-10) won the Stanley Cup with the Boston Bruins in 2011. The Rangers will await the winner of the western conference final. The Los Angeles Kings lead the Chicago Blackhawks three games to two with game tonight (Friday, May 30) in Los Angeles, Calif.

A native of Sodertalje, Sweden, Hagelin has enjoyed a breakout postseason with the Rangers, recording 10 points (6 G, 4 A) in the playoffs, including three points (2G, A) in the eastern conference final against Montreal and former Michigan teammate Max Pacioretty (2008). Hagelin opened the scoring in both game three and game four, including a shorthanded goal in the first period of game four. He also grabbed the primary assist on the winning goal in overtime.

Hagelin (2008-11) is in his third NHL season with the New York Rangers and had his most productive goal-scoring season (17) despite missing most of October with a shoulder injury. He made his first Olympic appearance in February at the 2014 Sochi Games, winning a silver medal with Sweden.

A left wing for the Wolverines, Hagelin led the team in scoring as a junior (19-31-50) and a senior (18-31-49). He served as an alternate captain in 2009-10 when U-M won the CCHA Tournament. He was a co-captain for the 2010-11 squad that captured the CCHA regular-season title and finished as the NCAA Tournament runner-up. In 2011, Hagelin was named an Old Time Hockey West All-America second team honoree, the CCHA Best Defensive Forward, an All-CCHA first teamer and a finalist for the CCHA Player of the Year.

Wolverine Stanley Cup Champions
1935-36 -- John Sherf, Detroit Red Wings
1936-37 -- John Sherf, Detroit Red Wings
1964-65 -- Red Berenson, Montreal Canadiens
1965-66 -- Red Berenson, Montreal Canadiens
1978-79 -- Pat Hughes, Montreal Canadiens
1983-84 -- Pat Hughes, Edmonton Oilers
1984-85 -- Pat Hughes, Edmonton Oilers
1996-97 -- Mike Knuble, Detroit Red Wings; Aaron Ward, Detroit Red Wings
1997-98 -- Mike Knuble, Detroit Red Wings; Aaron Ward, Detroit Red Wings
1998-99 -- Blake Sloan, Dallas Stars
1999-2000 -- John Madden, New Jersey Devils
2002-03 -- John Madden, New Jersey Devils
2005-06 -- Aaron Ward, Carolina Hurricanes
2009-10 -- John Madden, Chicago Blackhawks
2010-11 -- Steve Kampfer, Boston Bruins

Contact: Jeffrey Weinstein (734) 763-4423

»  Learn about Michigan ice hockey season tickets for the 2017-18 season.