Paras Tabbed Team MVP; King Freshman, Offensive MVP
Thomas Paras

May 5, 2014

Michigan Lacrosse: We Will video icon

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- Graduate student Thomas Paras (Lakewood, Ohio/St. Ignatius) earned Team MVP, freshman Ian King (Cincinnati, Ohio/St. Xavier) earned Freshman of the Year and Offensive MVP, and senior Jeff Chu (Berwyn, Pa./Conestoga) won the team's FIST and Unsung Hero Award at the University of Michigan men's lacrosse team's banquet Monday (May 5) at the Campus Inn Hotel.

Paras collects the honor after ranking third on the team in points (28) and tied the program record for assists with 15 on the season. Additionally, he ends his Michigan career as the program leader in goals for a career (45).

Additional awards saw junior Andrew Mosko (Bethesda, Md./Georgetown Prep) earn the Scout Team Award, while sophomore/freshman Brendan Gaughan (Carlsbad, Calif./La Costa Canyon) took home the Most Improved Player honor after scoring four goals on the season after missing his true freshman campaign due to injury. Sophomore Brad Lott (Louisville, Ky./Trinity), who was named to the All-ECAC Second Team last week and won 52 percent of his faceoffs this season, won the Brekan Kohlitz Award, given to the top specialist on the team.

Junior Mack Gembis (Birmingham, Mich./Cranbrook Kingswood) was honored with Defensive Team MVP honors for a year in which he was the first-ever ECAC Defensive Player of the Week. Additionally, the close defender forced 14 turnovers and collected 20 ground balls.

Sophomore goalie Mike D'Alessio (Eastchester, N.Y./The Hackley School) was honored with the Academic Leaders & Best Award for the squad's grade-point average leader on the team, while senior Doug Bryant (Princeton, N.J./Princeton) earned the Weight Room Warrior Award.

Most Valuable Player: Thomas Paras
Offensive MVP Award: Ian King
Defensive MVP Award: Mack Gembis
Brekan Kohlitz Award: Brad Lott
FIST Award: Jeff Chu
Most Improved Player Award: Brendan Gaughan
Freshman of the Year: Ian King
Scout Team Award: Andrew Mosko
Usung Hero Award: Jeff Chu
Academic Leader & Best Award: Mike D'Alessio
Weight Room Warrior Award: Doug Bryant

Contact: Scott Kemps (