Fourteen Wolverines Earn Academic All-ECAC Honors
Thomas Paras

May 29, 2013

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The University of Michigan men's lacrosse team had 14 players honored as 2013 Academic All-ECAC selections, the conferences announced Wednesday (May 29). Earlier today, 15 Wolverines were honored with Academic All-Big Ten recognition.

To be eligible for selection, each student-athlete must be in at least their second season at U-M, have a minimum grade-point average of 3.3 and be a significant contributor to the team. U-M's 14 selections are the second highest in the conference behind Denver, which had 19 players selected.

Senior Thomas Paras (Lakewood, Ohio/St. Ignatius), who was third on the team in goals (13) and points (19), headlines the list, while freshman long stick midfielder Chase Brown (Severna Park, Md./Severn), who tied for the team lead in caused turnovers with 13, also graced the slew of honorees.

Five freshmen earned a spot on the squad -- Brown, goalie Mike D'Alessio (Eastchester, N.Y./The Hackley School), Sam Martorella (Hewlett, N.Y./Hewlett), Paxton Moore (Haverford, Pa./Haverford) and Josh Stauffer (Jupiter, Fla./The Benjamin School) -- while junior Doug Bryant (Princeton, N.J./Princeton), junior Jeff Chu (Berwyn, Pa./Conestoga) and Paras earned a spot on the squad for the second straight season.

Additionally, sophomores Jack Eisenreich (Chatham, N.J./Chatham), Mack Gembis (Birmingham, Mich./Cranbrook Kingswood), David McCormack (Terrace Park, Ohio/Mariemont), Thomas Orr (West Bloomfield, Mich./Detroit Catholic Central) and Andrew Portnoy (Mountain Lakes, N.J./Mountain Lakes) earned spots on the team, along with junior Max Zwolan (Ann Arbor, Mich./Pioneer).
In total, 82 ECAC student-athletes were named to the squad, as Denver led the league with 19, while U-M had 14 selections for second.

In addition to the ECAC accolades, 15 upperclassman made the Academic All-Big Ten Conference squad. Along with Bryant, Chu, Eisenreich, Gembis, McCormack, Orr, and Paras, junior Andrew Hayden (Carlsbad, Calif./La Costa Canyon), junior J.D. Johnson (Malibu, Calif./Loyola), sophomore Will Meter (Beverly Hills, Mich./Brother Rice), junior Dakota Sherman (Bloomfield Hills, Mich./Cranbrook Kingswood), senior Willie Steenland (Minneapolis, Minn./The Blake School), senior Sean Sutton (Greenwich, Conn./Greenwich), junior Dylan Westerhold (Madison, N.J./The Pingry School), and sophomore Kevin Wylie(Aurora, Colo./Colorado College) also donned the list.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.