Big Ten Announces Conference Tournament Plans

June 12, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. -- The Big Ten Conference has announced Thursday (June 12) plans for the 2015 and 2016 Big Ten men's and women's lacrosse tournaments. The 2015 edition of the men's tournament will be hosted by the University of Maryland April 30-May 2 in College Park, while the women's tourney will be hosted April 30-May 3 by Rutgers University in Piscataway, N.J.

The men's tournament will feature a four-team field, with two semifinal games on Thursday and the championship being contested on Sunday. In addition to Michigan, the men's conference will also feature Ohio State, Penn State, Rutgers and Maryland. Additionally, Johns Hopkins University will join the Big Ten as a sport affiliate member in men's lacrosse starting in the 2014-15 academic year.

Conversely, the women's tournament will include all six conference teams, with two Thursday quarterfinal games. The top two seeds will receive byes into the semifinals, which will be played on Friday. The tournament will conclude with the championship match on Sunday.

The newly formed women's conference will include Michigan, Northwestern, Ohio State and Penn State, as well as new Big Ten Conference members Maryland and Rutgers, which are scheduled to become full-fledged members of the conference in 2014-15.

Plans for the 2016 tournaments were also announced, as Johns Hopkins will host the men's tournament May 5-7 in Baltimore, Md., while Northwestern will host the women's tournament May 5-8 in Evanston, Ill.

Big Ten rules allow for a conference championship when six institutions sponsor a program in any given sport. The formation of the Big Ten lacrosse conferences were originally announced on June 3, 2013.

Contact: Scott Kemps (, Whitney Dixon (

»  Beginning with the 2017 season, entry to regular-season home events will be free of charge..