Alumni Cup Tournament Highlights Spring Season for Michigan
Chaka Daley

May 13, 2013

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The University of Michigan men's soccer team wrapped up its 2013 spring season, which featured a trio of exhibition matches and the program's first-ever Alumni Cup Tournament on Saturday (April 20) at U-M Soccer Stadium.

The spring season began with a scrimmage against the University of Michigan club soccer team. The annual match was followed by a pair of 1-0 outcomes, a defeat against Notre Dame on March 23, and a victory over Michigan State on April 6 coming off a Colin McAtee (Del Mar, Calif./Torrey Pines) score. Each match was played at Ultimate Soccer Arena in Pontiac, Mich.

"Although we had limited numbers in the spring due to graduation, the staff and I feel that our team and our culture continue to move in the right direction," said head coach Chaka Daley. "We were fortunate to play a trio of competitive matches in the spring season, which allowed us to gain a significant amount of insight on our current roster."

In the Alumni Cup Tournament, the side of Tim Puckett (1992), Kevin Taylor (2000-03), Alex Morisett (2005-08), Matt Schmitt (2007-10), Noble Sullivan (2010-2013), Tyler Leppek (2014), Colin McAtee (2016), as well as current operations assistant Tim Weaver (2007) and assistant coach Tommy McMenemy, took home the trophy. Dozens of alumni dating back to as early as 1991 took part in the event.

"Our alumni game was a big hit," said Daley. "It was enjoyable for our players -- past, as well as present -- to reminisce and play a small-sided tournament for our first-ever Alumni Cup trophy."

U-M begins its campaign at home on Friday, Aug. 30, against Loyola-Chicago at 3:30 p.m. from U-M Soccer Stadium. The Wolverines host a loaded 10-match home schedule, featuring four top-15 squads from 2012, including defending NCAA champion Indiana. Overall, U-M will face eight teams who earned trips to last season's NCAA Tournament.

U-M had a six-win turnaround season in 2012 with an 11-10-1 overall record. The Maize and Blue also earned a berth in the Big Ten title game and a NCAA Tournament victory. The squad returns 2012 All-Big Ten first team midfielder Tyler Arnone (Hicksville, N.Y./St. John's), All-Big Ten second team goalkeeper Adam Grinwis (Ada, Mich./ Forest Hills), All-Big Ten Freshman Team honoree James Murphy (Oxford, England/Henry Box School) and top goal scorer Fabio Villas Boas Pereira (Sao Paolo, Brazil/South Kent [Conn.]).

Media Contact: Scott Kemps (734) 763-4423

Sign up for Michigan Insider to be the first to learn about 2017 Michigan men's soccer ticket opportunities.