Arnone Leads Trio of Wolverines on All-Big Ten Awards List
Tyler Arnone

Nov. 8, 2012

EVANSTON, Ill. -- Junior/sophomore Tyler Arnone (Hicksville, N.Y./St. John's) of the University of Michigan men's soccer team earned a spot on the All-Big Ten Conference first team, while junior/sophomore goalkeeper Adam Grinwis (Ada, Mich./Forest Hills) garnered second team honors in awards handed out Thursday night (Nov. 8) at the Big Ten Tournament banquet.

In addition, freshman James Murphy (Oxford, England/Henry Box School) earned unanimous selection to the Big Ten All-Freshman team, while senior/junior Noble Sullivan (Grand Rapids, Mich./Catholic Central) was Michigan's Big Ten sportsmanship award honoree.

Arnone has been a rock in the Michigan midfield this season, starting all 18 matches and playing the entire match on all but three occasions. He leads the team in goals (four) and points (12) and is tied for second in assists with four. Arnone had his best offensive output of the season against Detroit (Oct. 30), notching a goal and an assist in addition to eight shots, a Big Ten single-match high this season.

With the distinction, Arnone becomes the 12th Wolverine to earn first team accolades and the first since Soony Saad in 2010. As a freshman a year ago, Arnone was named to the Big Ten All-Freshman squad.

Grinwis, the lone Wolverine to play every minute of every match this year, led the conference in saves with 81 during the regular season. Currently riding a two-match shutout streak while allowing five goals in the last seven matches, he has registered five clean sheets on the season. He set a program record for saves in a single match and set a Big Ten season high when he turned away 12 Penn State chances on Oct. 6 in a 1-1 draw.

He becomes the second goalkeeper in U-M history to earn All-Big Ten honors, as Peter Dzubay (2003-06) earned first team accolades in 2005 and second team honors in 2003.

Murphy scored three goals, all game-winners, in his first campaign in Ann Arbor. His first career score came against Indiana on Oct. 19 in U-M's signature road win of the season, and he earned the lone U-M tally in the Big Ten Tournament opener against Wisconsin on Nov. 8. Overall, he is fourth on the team in goals (three) and points (seven) and leads the team in shots (36) and shots on goal (16).

Sullivan, who has been limited to six matches this season due to injury, has been a three-year contributor to the squad as well as a team leader. The Big Ten Sportsmanship Award is bestowed upon student-athletes that have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Sullivan is now a candidate for the Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.


Offensive Player of the Year: ERIQ ZAVALETA, Indiana
Defensive Player of the Year: Chris Ritter, Northwestern
Freshman of the Year: JOEY CALISTRI, Northwestern
Coach of the Year: Bob Warming, Penn State

All-Big Ten First Team

F -- Adam Montague, Michigan State
F -- Joey Calistri, Northwestern
MF -- A.J. Corrado, Indiana
MF -- Tyler Arnone, Michigan
MF -- CHRIS RITTER, Northwestern
MF -- Jacob Barron, Penn State
D -- Nikko Boxall, Northwestern
D -- John Gallagher, Penn State
D -- AJ Cochran, Wisconsin
GK -- Tyler Miller, Northwestern
  All-Big Ten Second Team*

F -- Nikita Kotlov, Indiana
F -- Chris Hegngi, Ohio State
F -- Julian Cardona, Penn State
F -- Hasani Sinclair, Penn State
MF -- Jacob Bushue, Indiana
MF -- Austin McAnena, Ohio State
MF -- Owen Griffith, Penn State
D -- Caleb Konstanski, Indiana
D -- Kevin Cope, Michigan State
D -- Jarrett Baughman, Northwestern
GK -- Adam Grinwis, Michigan
GK -- Andrew Wolverton, Penn State

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS
* Additional selection due to ties

All-Freshman Team*

F -- Femi Hollinger-Janzen, Indiana
F -- JOEY CALISTRI, Northwestern
F -- Louie Berra, Ohio State
MF -- Richard Ballard, Indiana
MF -- JAMES MURPHY, Michigan
MF -- JAY CHAPMAN, Michigan State
MF -- Cole Missimo, Northwestern
MF -- Drew Klingenberg, Penn State
D -- ZACH MASON, Ohio State
D -- DREW CONNOR, Wisconsin
D -- ADAM LAUKO, Wisconsin
GK -- Zach Bennett, Michigan State

Sportsmanship Award Honorees

Harrison Petts, Jr., Indiana
Noble Sullivan, Jr., Michigan
Nick Wilson, Sr., Michigan State
Jarrett Baughman, Sr., Northwestern
Josh Breto, Sr., Ohio State
Daniel Burnham, Sr., Penn State
Kyle McCrudden, Sr., Wisconsin

Contact: Scott Kemps (734) 763-4423

Sign up for Michigan Insider to be the first to learn about 2017 Michigan men's soccer ticket opportunities.