Alashe, Opare on All-Big Ten Second Team, Arnone Voted All-Freshman
Latif Alashe

Nov. 10, 2011

ANN ARBOR, Mich.-- The University of Michigan men's soccer team placed a pair of players on the All-Big Ten Conference second team in juniors Latif Alashe (Northville, Mich./Northville) and Kofi Opare (Niagara Falls, Ontario/St. Paul HS). Additionally, freshman Tyler Arnone (Hicksville, N.Y./Hicksville) garnered Big Ten All-Freshman team honors, while senior/junior Tim Bergsma (Beverly Hills, Mich./Southfield Christian) earned the team's Sportsmanship Award.

Opare was a linchpin in the Wolverine back line, starting all 20 games and playing a team-best 1,781 minutes, including being on the field the entire match on 17 occasions. He collected a pair of scores via headers in the back-to-back matches, scoring against Wisconsin (Oct. 9) and at Oakland (Oct. 12). His assist this season came on a helper to Arnone against Indiana. Opare had five points and 25 shots on the year. The honor is the second Big Ten accolade of his career, as he earned Big Ten All-Freshman team honors in 2009.

Alashe ended the season tied for third on the team with seven points, scoring two goals and chipping in three assists from his outside midfield position. Alashe, who has started all 63 matches of his three-year career, was instrumental in the squad's signature win of the season against then-No. 4 Akron on Oct. 18, as he chipped Zips goalkeeper David Mewes in the 97th minute for a 1-0 Wolverines victory. Alashe was an Academic All-Big Ten honoree in 2010 and a member of the Big Ten All-Freshman team in 2009.

Arnone burst onto the scene as a freshman, becoming one the team's most consistent midfielders. He started all 20 matches and ranked second on the squad in minutes played with 1,707. Arnone's second score of his Wolverine career came against Indiana (Oct. 15) as he tallied the lone Michigan goal, and his first score came in a 4-1 win over Detroit (Sept. 14). He was an offensive force once again in the upset of Akron, as he took four shots on the match with two on goal, and he had three shots five times on the season. He was one of seven unanimous selections on the All-Freshman team.

Bergsma earned the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award after being elected as a tri-captain by his teammates at the beginning of the season. He played in three games, stopping nine shots. He earned his first career start in the regular-season finale against Northwestern (Nov. 5) and stopped five shots in a 1-0 loss. Bergsma is the Michigan Student Atlhlete Advisory Committee Big Ten representative,and is involved in numerous community service activities and organizations. Most notably, he has been a prominent member of Athletes in Action, traveling to Cape Town, South Africa to work with the countries youth in developing soccer skills.

The Big Ten Sportsmanship award is bestowed upon student-athletes that have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Bergsma is now a candidate for the Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.


Offensive Player of the Year: Chris Hegngi, Ohio State
Defensive Player of the Year: David Tiemstra, Ohio State
Freshman of the Year: ERIQ ZAVALETA, Indiana
Coach of the Year: TIM LENAHAN, Northwestern

First Team
Alec Purdie, F, Indiana
OLIVER KUPE, F, Northwestern
Chris Hegngi, F, Ohio State
Nikita Kotlov, M, Indiana
Cyrus Sadee, M, Michigan State
Tomislav Zadro, M, Wisconsin
Tommy Meyer, D, Indiana
Tyler Miller, GK, Northwestern

Second Team
Adam Montague, F, Michigan State
Parnell Hegngi, F, Ohio State
Chris Prince, F, Wisconsin
Latif Alashe, M, Michigan
Chris Ritter, M, Northwestern
Lepe Seetane, M, Northwestern
Austin McAnena, M, Ohio State
Kofi Opare, D, Michigan
Mark Barone, D, Michigan State
Nikko Boxall, D, Northwestern
Matt Lampson, GK, Ohio State

All-Freshman Team
ADAM MONTAGUE, F, Michigan State
Kenny Cunningham, F, Ohio State
Kerel Bradford, M, Indiana
Tyler Arnone, M, Michigan
Fatai Alashe, M, Michigan State
Brady Wahl, M, Ohio State
RYAN KEENER, D, Michigan State
NIKKO BOXALL, D, Northwestern
AJ COCHRAN, D, Wisconsin
TYLER MILLER, GK, Northwestern

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Kerel Bradford, Fr., Indiana
Tim Bergsma, Jr., Michigan
Garret Back, Sr., Michigan State
Peter O'Neill, Sr., Northwestern
Sage Gardner, So., Ohio State
Jacob Barron, Jr., Penn State
Blake Succa, So., Wisconsin

Contact: Scott Kemps (734) 763-4423

Sign up for Michigan Insider to be the first to learn about 2017 Michigan men's soccer ticket opportunities.