Saad Collects Big Ten First Team, Freshman of the Year at Awards Banquet

Nov. 11, 2010

STATE COLLEGE, Pa. -- Freshman Soony Saad (Dearborn, Mich./Dearborn) of the University of Michigan men's soccer team became the program's first player to earn Big Ten Freshman of the Year on Thursday (Nov. 11) at the annual Big Ten postseason banquet. In addition to Saad's Freshman of the Year honor, he was named to the All-Big Ten first team. Meanwhile, senior Justin Meram (Shelby Township, Mich./Eisenhower) and sophomore Hamoody Saad (Dearborn, Mich./Dearborn) were named to the all-conference second team, while freshman Fabio Pereira (Sao Paulo, Brazil/South Kent [Conn.]) got a spot on the all-freshman squad. Senior Alex Wood (Northville, Mich./Northville) is U-M's Big Ten sportsmanship award recipient.

Soony Saad has set numerous single-season records for the Wolverines this season. Most recently, Saad broke U-M's seven-year-old record for goals by a freshman (14) and currently has 16 on the year. He also set new single-season records in points (34) and shots (112) during the regular season. Saad's 15 goals entering the tournament were tied for second in the nation and his 34 points this season also ranked second before today. The rookie has twice been named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week this season and has been named to the numerous National Teams of the Week.

Meram earns his second consecutive All-Big Ten second team honor after leading the Wolverines in assists for the second consecutive season -- he currently has eight. Meram, who is on a three-game scoring streak, is second on the team in all offensive categories and leads the team, along with Soony Saad, with four game-winning markers. He tallied his first career Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week honor this season and scored four goals in U-M's last four games heading into the Big Ten Tournament.

Hamoody Saad also earned All-Big Ten second team honors. He has accumulated 13 points this season, with five goals and three assists, and has posted two game-winning goals, both to give the Wolverines overtime victories. Hamoody, an all-freshman team member in 2009, has combined with Soony and Meram to account for 80 percent of the Wolverine offense this season.

Pereira earns a spot on the 13-member all-freshman team. The Sao Paulo, Brazil, native has seen action in 14 games in 2010, tallying five assists. Freshman of the Year Soony Saad joined Pereira on the all-freshman team as one of three unanimous selections.

Wood was named U-M's Big Ten Sportsmanship Award recipient this season. One of two U-M captains this season, Wood has seen action in 17 games with three goals and five assists for a single-season career-best 10 points. Wood is the president of U-M's Student-Athlete Advisory Council and was a Lowe's Senior CLASS Award top 30 candidate. Additionally, he is involved in numerous community service activities, including TOPSOCCER, a community-based organization for young athletes with physical and mental disabilities.

The Big Ten Sportsmanship award is bestowed upon student-athletes that have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Wood is now a candidate for the Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

2010 Men's Soccer All-Big Ten Teams

Offensive Player of the Year: Will Bruin, Indiana
Defensive Player of the Year: David Tiemstra, Ohio State
Freshman of the Year: Soony Saad, Michigan
Coach of the Year: Todd Yeagley, Indiana

First Team
Soony Saad, Michigan
Andy Adlard, Indiana
Spencer Thompson, Michigan State
Konrad Warzycha, Ohio State
Rich Balchan, Indiana
COLIN GIVENS, Michigan State
David Tiemstra, Ohio State
Matt Lampson, Ohio State

Second Team*
Justin Meram, Michigan
Domenic Barone, Michigan State
Oliver Kupe, Northwestern
Chris Prince, Wisconsin
Hamoody Saad, Michigan
Matt Eliason, Northwestern
Matt Gold, Ohio State
Drew Cost, Penn State
Tommy Meyer, Indiana
Kevin Cope, Michigan State
Aaron Nichols, Wisconsin
Avery Steinlage, Michigan State

All-Freshman Team*
Nikita Kotlov, Indiana
SOONY SAAD, Michigan
Jacob Bushue, Indiana
Fabio Pereira, Michigan
Josh Barens, Michigan State
Lepe Seetane, Northwestern
Nick Janus, Wisconsin
Layth Masri, Northwestern
Sage Gardner, Ohio State
PAUL YONGA, Wisconsin
Brendan Birmingham, Penn State

* Additional honorees due to a tie
Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Caleb Konstanski, So., Indiana
Alex Wood, Sr., Michigan
Jeff Ricondo, Sr., Michigan State
Jack Hillgard, Sr., Northwestern
Sam Scales, Sr., Ohio State
Drew Cost, Sr., Penn State
Jon Rzepka, Sr., Wisconsin

Contact: Jessica Poole (734) 763-4423

Sign up for Michigan Insider to be the first to learn about 2017 Michigan men's soccer ticket opportunities.