Arnone Nets All-Big Ten First Team Accolades, Midfielder of the Year

Nov. 14, 2013

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- Senior/junior Tyler Arnone (Hicksville, N.Y./St. John's) of the University of Michigan men's soccer was named Big Ten Midfielder of the Year and earned a spot on the All-Big Ten Conference first team, the conference announced Thursday night (Nov. 14) at the Big Ten Tournament banquet.

Additionally, freshman defenders Lars Eckenrode (Springfield, Va./West Springfield) and Rylee Woods (Jamestown, Ohio/Greeneview) earned unanimous selections to the Big Ten All-Freshman Team.

Arnone, who earned the first team distinction last season as well, is the fourth player in U-M history to earn back-to-back first team honors. He joins other Michigan greats Knox Cameron (2002-03), Jake Stacy (2007-08) and Mauro Fuzetti (2008-09) in the prestigious group, and is the first winner of the Big Ten Midfielder of the Year award, given to the top midfielder in the conference.

Arnone was also a member of the Big Ten Preseason Watch List and played the entire match on 13 occasions. The team captain has started 17 of the 18 matches on the campaign, collecting two goals and five assists. He ranks eighth in assists in the Big Ten this season. Arnone's most vital score of the season came in a 2-1 win at Wisconsin (Oct. 20), where he netted the game-winning goal.

Eckenrode and Woods were two of nine unanimous selections to the All-Big Ten Freshman Team.

Eckenrode played in 17 matches with 14 starts and scored a vital game-winning goal in a 1-0 victory over Creighton on Oct. 15, and assisted on a TJ VanSlooten (Grand Rapids, Mich./Northview) match-sealing score in a 2-1 win over Indiana on Oct. 26.

Woods played in 16 matches with 15 starts this season. The freshman had 12 shots on the year to go along with a secondary assist on VanSlooten's score against Indiana. He played the entire match on nine occasions.

Senior Malcolm Miller (Lawrenceville, Ga./Collins Hill) took home the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award after playing in 16 matches this season, contributing a goal as well as an assist. The Big Ten Sportsmanship Award is bestowed upon student-athletes that have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Miller is now a candidate for the Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.


Coach of the Year: Bob Warming, Penn State
Offensive Player of the Year: Tomislav Zadro, Wisconsin
Defensive Player of the Year: AJ Cochran, Wisconsin
Midfielder of the Year: Tyler Arnone, Michigan
Goalkeeper of the Year: Andrew Wolverton, Penn State
Freshman of the Year: Tommy Thompson, Indiana

 All-Big Ten Second Team

F -- Tommy Thompson, Indiana
F -- Adam Montague, Michigan State
F -- Owen Griffith, Penn State
MF -- A.J. Corrado, Indiana
MF -- Nikita Kotlov, Indiana
MF -- Drew Conner, Wisconsin
D -- Jacob Bushue, Indiana
D -- Nikko Boxall, Northwestern
D -- Sage Gardner, Ohio State
GK -- Alex Ivanov, Ohio State

All-Big Ten First Team*

F -- Tim Kreutz, Michigan State
F -- Joey Calistri, Northwestern
F -- Jordan Tyler, Penn State
F -- Nick Janus, Wisconsin
MF -- TYLER ARNONE, Michigan
MF -- Jay Chapman, Michigan State
MF -- Chris Ritter, Northwestern
MF -- Tomislav Zadro, Wisconsin
D -- KEVIN COPE, Michigan State
D -- Martin Seiler, Penn State
D -- AJ COCHRAN, Wisconsin
GK -- Andrew Wolverton, Penn State

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS
* Additional selection due to ties

All-Freshman Team*

Brian Hail, MF/F, Wisconsin
ANDREW HERR, M, Michigan State
Nick Jones, F, Wisconsin
Tyler Kidwell, D, Ohio State
DEWEY LEWIS, F, Michigan State
BRANDON MEDINA, M, Northwestern
RYLEE WOODS, D, Michigan

Sportsmanship Award Honorees

Matt McKain, Indiana
Malcolm Miller, Michigan
Wesley Curtis, Michigan State
Lepe Seetane, Northwestern
Sage Gardner, Ohio State
Grant Warming, Penn State
Max Jentsch, Wisconsin

Contact: Scott Kemps (734) 763-4423

Sign up for Michigan Insider to be the first to learn about 2017 Michigan men's soccer ticket opportunities.