U-M Wraps Winter Training with Team Win at Orange Bowl Classic
Sean Fletcher

Jan. 3, 2012

Site: Key Largo, Fla. (Jacobs Aquatic Center)
Event: 2012 Orange Bowl Classic
U-M Team Result: 1st of 5 teams (320 points)
Next U-M Event: Saturday, Jan. 7 -- vs. Indiana (Canham Natatorium), Noon

KEY LARGO, Fla. -- The No. 4-ranked University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team swept all 12 events to win the 2012 Orange Bowl Classic on Tuesday (Jan. 3) at the Jacobs Aquatic Center.

In individual events, eight different Wolverines earned wins, while freshman Richard Funk (Edmonton, Alberta/Stratchcona) earned wins in the 50-meter breaststroke and the 100-meter backstroke and Bruno Ortiz (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International), junior Miguel Ortiz (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International), and junior Roman Willets (Whitehouse, Ohio/St. Francis deSales) were members of both the 200-meter medley relay and the 200-meter freestyle relay.

The day began in the 200-meter medley, as the Ortiz brothers, junior Sean Fletcher (Vienna, Va./James Madison) and Willets clocked a 1:41.32 to take the event title.

Individual events began with the 400-meter freestyle, as sophomore Connor Jaeger (Rumson, N.J./Rumson-Fair Haven) took the event win with a 3:58.85. Fletcher followed in the 50-meter fly with a 24.53 to take the event victory, and was followed by senior Jan Konarzewski (Warsaw, Poland/LO im Andersa), who clocked a 57.80 in the 100-meter backstroke.

Next came a victory by Funk, who touched the wall in a time of 29.14 for an event win in the 50-meter breaststroke. Willets then collected a victory in the 100-meter freestyle with a 51.81 and sophomore John Wojciechowski (Scottsdale, Ariz./Phoenix Brophy) won the 100-meter butterfly race with a mark of 54.62. Miguel Ortiz earned a 50-meter backstroke triumph with a 25.82 time and Funk followed with his second win of the day in the 100-meter backstroke with a time of 1:03.02.

The day wrapped up with junior Evan Gregg (Blacksburg, Va./Blacksburg) taking the 50-meter freestyle with a time of 23.35. Sophomore Kyle Whitaker (Chesterton, Ind./Chesterton) followed with a win in the 200-meter individual medley as he clocked a 2:10.63. The final Michigan win of the day came in the 200-meter freestyle, as Miguel Ortiz, Bruno Ortiz, Willets and Gregg took the race with a time of 1:33.53.

The Wolverines open Big Ten competition next Saturday (Jan. 7) as they host the No. 10 Indiana Hoosiers at Canham Natatorium. The Hoosiers visit to Ann Arbor will mark the second meeting between the two squads this season, as Michigan defeated Indiana, 216-84, on Nov. 5. The meet is slated to begin at noon and will run simultaneously with the Michigan women's team hosting the Hoosiers.

Final Team Standings

 1. MICHIGAN            320
 2. George Mason        105.5
 3. Saint Leo           52.5
 4. Calvin College      21
 5. Penn State-Behrend  19

Event Winners/U-M Finishers
Preliminary time in parentheses if faster than finals time

200-meter Medley Relay
 1. MICHIGAN 'A'                 1:41.32
   (Miguel Ortiz, Bruno Ortiz
    Sean Fletcher, Roman Willets)
 2. MICHIGAN 'B'                 1:48.35
   (Connor McCarroll, Dane Vanderkaay,
    Justin Glanda, Ryan Feeley)
400-meter Freestyle
 1. Connor Jaeger, U-M           3:58.85
 2. Sean Ryan, U-M               3:59.37
 3. Jonathon Ekleberry, U-M      4:13.03
 5. Zach Kelch, U-M              4:13.57
50-meter Butterfly
 1. Sean Fletcher, U-M             24.53
 2. Dan Madwed, U-M                24.57
 3. John Wojciechowski, U-M        24.73
 7. D'Voreaux Cann, U-M            26.60
100-meter Backstroke
 1. Jan Konarzewski, U-M           57.80
 2. Connor McCarroll, U-M          58.03
 3. Ryutaro Kamiya, U-M            58.75
 4. Michael Wynalda, U-M           59.45
50-meter Breaststroke
 1. Richard Funk, U-M              29.14
 2. Kyle Duckitt, U-M              29.45
 3. Casey Sreenan, U-M             30.06
 5. Adam Oxner, U-M                30.98
100-meter Freestyle	
 1. Roman Willets, U-M             51.81
 2. Ryan Feeley, U-M               52.07
 3. Justin Glanda, U-M             52.83
 4. Andrew Novakoff, U-M           53.67
100-meter Butterfly
 1. John Wojciechowski, U-M        54.62
 2. Dan Madwed, U-M                54.77
 3. Kyle Whitaker, U-M             59.07
 8. D'Voreaux Cann, U-M          1:01.97
50-meter Backstroke
 1. Miguel Ortiz, U-M              25.82
 2. Sean Fletcher, U-M             26.39
 3. Jan Konarzewski, U-M           27.02
 4. Ryutaro Kamiya, U-M            27.79
100-meter Backstroke
 1. Richard Funk, U-M            1:03.02
 2. Kyle Duckitt, U-M            1:05.61
 3. David Moore, U-M             1:08.20
 4. Adam Oxner, U-M              1:08.25
50-meter Freestlye
 1. Evan Gregg, U-M                23.35
 2. Bruno Ortiz, U-M               23.64
 3. Michael Wynalda, U-M           24.14
 4. Casey Sreenan, U-M             25.16
200-meter Individual Medley
 1. Kyle Whitaker, U-M           2:10.63
 3. Dane Vanderkaay, U-M         2:12.12
 5. Connor Jaeger, U-M           2:17.66
 6. Sean Ryan, U-M               2:20.90
200-meter Freestyle Relay
 1. MICHIGAN 'A'                 1:33.53
   (Miguel Ortiz, Bruno Ortiz,
    Roman Willets, Evan Gregg)
 2. Michigan 'B'                 1:38.60
   (Dan Madwed, Ryan Feeley,
    Andrew Novakoff, Dane Vanderkaay)


• The meet was conducted in short course meters (25-meter pool).

• The Orange Bowl Classic ends the Wolverines' winter training trip to Florida.

• Michigan won all 11 events it participated in at last year's Orange Bowl Classic.

• Next weekend's dual meet against Indiana is the first dual meet for the Wolverines since defeating Texas and Indiana on Nov. 5