Michigan Claims Two Relay Titles to Take Early Lead at Big Tens
John Wojciechowski

Feb. 22, 2012

Site: Iowa City, Iowa (Campus Wellness and Recreation Center)
Event: Big Ten Championships (Day 1 of 4)
U-M Team Standing: 1st of 10 teams (80 points) after Day 1
Next U-M Event: Thu-Sat., Feb. 23-25 -- at Big Ten Championships (Iowa City, Iowa) 11 a.m./6:30 p.m. CST

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The No. 4-ranked University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team repeated as 200-yard medley relay and 800-yard freestyle relay champion and sits in first place after the first day of competition at the Big Ten Championships on Wednesday evening (Feb. 22) at Iowa's Campus Wellness and Recreation Center.

The Wolverines began their quest for a 36th Big Ten championship with a win in the 200-yard medley relay with a pool-record 1:25.58, led by sophomore Miguel Ortiz (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International). He was followed by freshman Richard Funk (Edmonton, Alberta/Stratchcona) and sophomore John Wojciechowski (Scottsdale, Ariz./Phoenix Brophy). Junior Evan Gregg (Blacksburg, Va./Blacksburg) brought home the victory on the sprint freestyle portion with a blistering 45.50 to edge out second-place Penn State by .03 and third-place Ohio State by .04 to tack on 40 points for U-M.

U-M then captured the 800-yard freestyle relay for 12th straight season with a pool-record and nation-best 6:16.26 to seal day one of competition. Senior Dan Madwed (Stamford, Conn./Towson) handled the leadoff leg of competition, while sophomore Michael Wynalda (Wyoming, Mich./Grandville) followed, as Michigan opened up a 1.24-second lead heading into the third leg of the relay. Sophomores Connor Jaeger (Rumson, N.J./Rumson-Fair Haven) and Kyle Whitaker (Chesterton, Ind./Chesterton) held down the third and fourth positions in the relay as U-M won the race by more than eight seconds over second-place Ohio State.

The Wolverines continue with day two of the Big Ten Championships tomorrow (Wednesday, Feb. 23) at Iowa's Campus Wellness and Recreation Center. Preliminaries begin at 11 a.m. CST, with the finals set to begin at 6:30 p.m. CST.

Team Standings (After Day 1)

 1. MICHIGAN              80
 2. Ohio State            66
 3. Indiana               60
 4. Minnesota             54
 4. Wisconsin             54
 6. Penn State            52
 7. Northwestern          50
 8. Iowa                  48
 9. Purdue                32
10. Michigan State        26

Event Winners/U-M Finishers

200-yard Medley Relay
 1. MICHIGAN 'A'                1:25.58%#
   (Miguel Ortiz, Richard Funk
    John Wojciechowski, Evan Gregg)
800-yard Freestyle Relay
 1. MICHIGAN 'A'                6:16.26%*
   (Dan Madwed, Michael Wynalda,
    Connor Jaeger, Kyle Whitaker)
* NCAA automatic qualifying time
# NCAA consideration time
% Pool Record


• The Wolverines repeated as 200-yard medley relay champions, winning the race for the third straight season.

• Michigan won its 12th consecutive Big Ten title in the 800-yard freestyle relay. U-M has not lost that relay since 2000. The Wolverines broke Indiana's Big Ten best string of relay titles with its 12th win in the 800-yard freestyle relay. IU won 11 400-yard medley relay titles from 1967 to 1977.

Richard Funk, John Wojciechowski and Evan Gregg won their first Big Ten titles as part of the 200-yard medley relay and Michael Wynalda won his first crown as part of the 800-yard freestyle relay.

• Madwed, Jaeger, and Whitaker were all part of the 2011 Big Ten championship 800-freestyle relay.


Michigan Head Coach Mike Bottom
On day one ... "We had in our team meeting the idea that every man does their job. We talk about being a 'blue cloud,' in being faceless and going into the competition and getting the job done. It's a privilege watching what these guys do during the day. Walking down the hallway earlier today there are four or five guys studying in the hallway and downstairs in the library. This team doesn't only have a job to swim, fast but they also have a job to study. Today we were able to turn in an 800 relay time that is No. 1 in the nation right now. Our 200 relay won even though it was by such a small margin. Tomorrow is another day, and we're going to talk about getting up and going to work tomorrow."

Contact: Scott Kemps (734) 763-4423