Wins by Feeley, Whitaker Help Keep U-M in First Place at Big Tens
Kyle Whitaker

Feb. 23, 2012

• Photo Galleries: Prelims  |  Finals 
• Interviews (YouTube): Ryan Feeley Video icon | Kyle Whitaker Video icon

Site: Iowa City, Iowa (Campus Wellness and Recreation Center)
Event: Big Ten Championships (Day 2 of 4)
U-M Team Standing: 1st Place of 10 Teams (253 Points) After Day 2
Next U-M Event: Fri-Sat., Feb. 23-25 -- at Big Ten Championships (Iowa City, Iowa), 11 a.m./6:30 p.m. CST

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The No. 4-ranked University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team retained its lead over the field with two individual wins -- junior Ryan Feeley (Rye, N.Y./Rye) in the 500-yard freestyle and sophomore Kyle Whitaker (Chesterton, Ind./Chesterton) in the 200 individual medley -- as well as a title in the 400-yard medley relay on Thursday (Feb. 23) at the Big Ten Championships. The Wolverines hold a 253-218 lead over second-place Ohio State after the first full day of competition at Iowa's Campus Wellness and Recreation Center.

Feeley led a 1-2-3 Michigan finish in the 500-yard freestyle, posting a career-best and pool-record time of 4:15.12 that earned him the the first Big Ten championship of his career and the top time in the nation. He was followed in second by sophomore Connor Jaeger (Rumson, N.J./Rumson-Fair Haven) with an NCAA 'A' qualifying time of 4:15.65 to improve on his season-best time, while 2011 Big Ten 500 free champion sophomore Sean Ryan (Hixson, Tenn./McCallie School) took third with a 4:16.47 to help U-M earn 43 points in the event.

Michigan made it back-to-back wins in the 200 IM, as Whitaker successfully defended his 2011 title by clocking a pool-record, NCAA 'A' cut time of 1:43.40. Senior Dan Madwed (Stamford, Conn./Towson) placed second in 1:44.47, while sophomore John Wojciechowski (Scottsdale, Ariz./Phoenix Brophy) took seventh (1:46.20).

The 50-yard freestyle proved to be the lone individual swimming event U-M did not win during the final session of day two, as junior Miguel Ortiz (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International) took second with a career-best 19.63. Two Wolverines swam in the 'B' final, as freshman Bruno Ortiz (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International) clocked a 19.91 for a 10th-place finish, while junior Evan Gregg (Blacksburg, Va./Blacksburg) took 11th (19.92).

Michigan sealed day two with an impressive win in the 400-yard medley relay, as the quartet of Miguel Ortiz, freshman Richard Funk (Edmonton, Alberta/Stratchcona), junior Sean Fletcher (Vienna, Va./James Madison) and Madwed clocked a pool-record 3:07.32 to notch the fifth straight Big Ten championship in the event for the Wolverines.

Michigan rolls into day three of the Big Ten Championships tomorrow (Friday, Feb. 24) at Iowa's Campus and Recreation Center. Preliminaries will begin at 11 a.m. CST, with the finals set to begin at 6:30 p.m.

Team Standings (After Day 2)

 1. MICHIGAN              253
 2. Ohio State            218
 3. Indiana               189
 4. Iowa                  152
 5. Purdue                124
 6. Penn State            118
 7. Minnesota             116
 8. Wisconsin             110
 9. Northwestern           72
10. Michigan State         44

Event Winners/U-M Finishers (Day 2)

500-yard Freestyle
 1. Ryan Feeley, U-M           4:15.12*%
 2. Connor Jaeger, U-M         4:15.65*
 3. Sean Ryan, U-M             4:16.47#
20. Dane Vanderkaay, U-M       4:24.36#
21. Ryutaro Kamiya, U-M        4:24.60#
35. Andrew Novakoff, U-M       4:28.55
38. Jonathon Ekleberry, U-M    4:30.51 (4:26.25)
39. Connor McCarroll, U-M      4:30.94 (4:29.21)
200-yard Individual Medley
 1. Kyle Whitaker, U-M         1:43.40*%
 2. Dan Madwed, U-M            1:44.47#
 7. John Wojciechowski, U-M    1:46.20#
17. Richard Funk, U-M          1:48.22#
30. Kyle Duckitt, U-M          1:50.59
50-yard Freestyle
 1. Jason Schnur, Ohio State     19.35*
 2. Miguel Ortiz, U-M            19.63#
10. Bruno Ortiz, U-M             19.91#
11. Evan Gregg, U-M              19.92#
17. Sean Fletcher, U-M           20.05#
22. Jan Konarzewski, U-M         20.26#
33. Roman Willets, U-M           20.42
41. Michael Wynalda, U-M         20.58
50. Justin Glanda, U-M           20.78
62. Casey Sreenan, U-M           21.23
One-meter Diving
 1. Shane Miszkiel, Ohio State  401.75
16. Jack Lee, U-M               275.20
17. James Ross, U-M             283.60
20. Chris Morrison, U-M         281.50
27. Thomas Jahnke, U-M          266.60
400-yard Medley Relay
1. Michigan                    3:07.32*%
   (Miguel Ortiz, Richard Funk,
    Sean Fletcher, Dan Madwed)
* NCAA automatic qualifying time # NCAA consideration time % Pool Record

Day 1 Results


• The 1-2-3 finish in the 500 freestyle marks the second straight season that U-M has accomplished the feat. Sean Ryan won the race last year, followed by Dane Vanderkaay and Ryan Feeley.

• Michigan has won seven straight 500 freestyle races this season, with Connor Jaeger being responsible for six of the seven wins.

• The 1-2 finish in the 200 IM marks the second straight season that Kyle Whitaker and Dan Madwed finished 1-2, respectively, in the event at the Big Ten Championships.

• The win in the 200 IM marks U-M's fifth straight Big Ten title in the event, dating back to Alex Vanderkaay's win in 2008.

• Michigan's time of 3:07.32 in the 400-yard medley relay improves on last year's time of 3:09.23 and is 0.16 off the school record of 3:07.16.

• Michigan chose not to swim a time trial between Sean Fletcher and Evan Gregg to break a 16th-place tie in the 50 free prelims. Gregg swam in the B final and finished third (11th overall) to earn six team points.

Contact: Scott Kemps (734) 763-4423