Record-Setting Relays Pace Wolverines to Lead at Big Tens
Connor Jaeger

Feb. 26, 2014

Complete Results | Photo Gallery  | Highlights video icon | Wynalda Interview video icon

Site: Ann Arbor, Mich. (Canham Natatorium)
Event: Big Ten Championships (Day 1 of 4)
U-M Team Standing: 1st Place of 10 Teams (80 points) after Day 1
Next U-M Event: Thursday, Feb. 27 -- host Big Ten Championships - Day 2 (Canham Natatorium), 11 a.m./6:30 p.m.

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The No. 2-ranked University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team began its conference title defense with two record-setting relay swims to open the Big Ten Championships on Wednesday night (Feb. 26) at Canham Natatorium. The highlight of the night was the 800-yard freestyle relay team of sophomore Anders Nielsen (Vanloese, Denmark), senior Michael Wynalda (Wyoming, Mich./Grandville), junior Justin Glanda (Rochester, Mich./Cranbrook Kingswood) and senior Connor Jaeger (Fair Haven, N.J./Rumson-Fair Haven) that set NCAA, U.S. Open, Big Ten, Big Ten Championships, University of Michigan and Canham Natatorium records with a time of 6:09.85. It was the fastest time ever recorded for that event.

Michigan was in control of the race from the very beginning, thanks to a strong first leg from Nielsen (1:33.52). Wynalda broke the race open with an incredibly fast split (1:30.60), giving Glanda more than half-a-pool length advantage over the nearest swimmer (split - 1:33.26). Jaeger brought it all home for the Wolverines, who won the relay by nearly 10 seconds (split - 1:32.47). The previous NCAA record was held by Texas from 2009 (6:10.16). With their performance, the Wolverines also surpassed the NCAA 'A' cut and old pool record by 14 seconds.

While the 800 was the main event of the evening, the first event of the championships was not short on action either, as the Wolverines came from as far back as sixth to win the 200-yard medley relay. The quartet of senior John Wojciechowski (Scottsdale, Ariz./Phoenix Brophy Prep), junior Richard Funk (Edmonton, Alberta/Strathcona), sophomore Peter Brumm (Cornelius, N.C./Hough) and junior Bruno Ortiz (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International) clocked in at 1:24.38, which is an NCAA 'A' time and a new Canham Natatorium record. Fast splits by Funk in the breaststroke (23.16) and Brumm (20.37) put U-M ahead of Penn State by less than two tenths-of-a-second heading into the last leg, but Ortiz recorded a blistering 18.97 split to bring home the race by a half-second winning margin.

The second day of the Big Ten Championships commences tomorrow (Thursday, Feb. 27) with preliminaries at 11 a.m. The events that will be contested include the 500-yard freestyle, the 200-yard IM, the 50-yard freestyle, 400-yard medley relay and one-meter diving.

Team Standings (After Day 1)

 1. MICHIGAN             80
 2. Ohio State           64
 3. Penn State           62
 4. Indiana              60
 5. Wisconsin            58
 6. Minnesota            54
 7. Purdue               46
 8. Iowa                 40
    Northwestern         40
10. Michigan State       32

Event Winners/U-M Finishers

200-yard Medley Relay
1. MICHIGAN                    1:24.38*~
  (John Wojciechowski, Richard Funk,
   Peter Brumm, Bruno Ortiz)
800-yard Freestyle Relay
1. MICHIGAN                    6:09.85MNU*!&~
  (Anders Nielsen, Michael Wynalda,
   Justin Glanda, Connor Jaeger)
M University of Michigan record
N NCAA record
U U.S. Open record
* NCAA automatic qualifying time
# NCAA consideration time
^ NCAA Zone Diving qualifying score
! Big Ten record
& Big Ten Championships record
~ Pool Record


• The old NCAA and U.S. Open record in the 800-yard freestyle relay was 6:10.16, set by the Texas quartet of Dave Walters, Ricky Berens, Scott Jostes and Michael Klueh (who now swims for Club Wolverine) at the 2009 NCAA Championships.

• Michigan demolished the NCAA 'A' cut in the 800-yard freestyle by more than 14 seconds. The automatic qualifying time is 6:24.19. U-M swam 6:09.85. The old Big Ten and Big Ten Championships record was 6:13.70, set by Anders Nielsen, Michael Wynalda, Connor Jaeger and Kyle Whitaker from last season.

• U-M won the 200-yard medley relay for the eighth time in program history (for the fifth consecutive year) and the 800-yard freestyle relay for the 28th time in program history (for the 14th consecutive year).

• The previous pool records were 1:24.70 in the 200-yard medley relay (2013 - M. Ortiz, Bruno Ortiz, Fletcher, Turk) and 6:24.33 in the 800-yard freestyle relay (2003 - Tarwater, Mangieri, Vanderkaay, Ketchum).

Contact: Brad Rudner (