Vanderkaay, Ketchum Pace U-M on Day Two of Big Tens

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. -- The No. 10 University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team remained in second place after two days of competition at the Big Ten Conference championships in the Boilermaker Aquatic Center. Michigan has 391 points after two days of action, while Minnesota continues to lead the field with 441.5 points. Highlighting Michigan's efforts on the second day were individual event winners senior captain Dan Ketchum (Cincinnati, Ohio/Sycamore HS) and sophomore Peter Vanderkaay (Rochester, Mich./Adams HS) as well as the 800-yard freestyle relay championship team of Davis Tarwater (Knoxville, Tenn./Webb School), Vanderkaay, Andrew Hurd (Oakville, Ontario/Oakville Trafalger) and Ketchum.


Ketchum celebrates his Big Ten title in the 200 freestyle.

The Wolverines opened the evening on the right foot, as the foursome of Chris DeJong (Holland, Mich./Holland HS), Christian Vanderkaay (Rochester, Mich./Adams HS), Tarwater and Peter Vanderkaay clocked a school-record time of 1:28.42 for fifth place. The time bettered the previous school mark of 1:28.47 set during the 1995 NCAA championship season.

Peter Vanderkaay then returned to the pool following a 15-minute break and claimed his second event title of the championships as he took home top honors in the 400-yard individual medley with an NCAA automatic qualifying and Doris Z. Holloway pool record of 3:45.84. The 500-yard freestyle champion Friday evening (Feb. 26), Vanderkaay sat in second place for most of the race, but with 150 yards remaining he made his move and blew past Mike Alexandrov of Northwestern to claim the title by 2.64 seconds.

Tarwater gave Michigan another shot in arm with a personal-best clocking of 47.41 to place second in the 100-yard butterfly. The NCAA "B" standard performance bettered his previous best mark of 47.54 set during the event's prelims earlier in the day.

Ketchum handed the Maize and Blue its second individual event victory of the second day's session when he posted an NCAA "A" standard and pool-record time of 1:34.47 to win the 200-yard freestyle for the third time in his career. Ketchum swam a very tactical race, allowing Minnesota's Terry Silkaitis, the 2003 event champion, to dictate much the pace over the first 100 yards. Once the two hit the wall at the halfway point Ketchum began to creep his way toward the head of the pack. With just 55 yards to go, he had captured the lead and never looked back, out-touching the Gopher junior 1:34.37 to 1:34.42.

With the win Ketchum joins an elite company among Big Ten competition, as he is just the fifth swimmer to win the event three times in his career. Ketchum joins Indiana's John Kinsella (1971-73) and Joe Carroll (1983-85), Iowa's Atrur Wojdat (1989-91) and Michigan's Gustavo Borges (1992-95) as the only three-time champions in the event. Borges is the only Big Ten athlete to win the event four consecutive years.

Christian Vanderkaay made his first appearance in a Big Ten final since he suffered a shoulder injury that forced him to miss the entire 2002-03 season. As the eighth seed in the 100-yard breaststroke, he was able to move up one spot in the final standings, stopping the clock with a personal-best mark of 55.12.

DeJong continued Michigan's trend of having people in the top seven when he placed second in the 100-yard backstroke with an NCAA automatic qualifying mark of 47.19. DeJong's time shattered his previous best in the event as the old mark stood at 47.34 set earlier in the day. DeJong had held the third spot in the race heading into the final turn but kicked hard coming into the wall to claim second place by 0.38 seconds over Wisconsin's Adam Mania.

U-M made a strong statement in the final race of the evening as the unshaved foursome of Tarwater, Peter Vanderkaay, Hurd and Ketchum set a Big Ten meet record with an NCAA "A" standard time of 6:21.77.

Tarwater had the leadoff honor and turned in a split of 1:36.73, which left the Wolverines in third with Vanderkaay entering the water. Vanderkaay and Silkaitis battled the entire 200 yards, with the Gopher taking the early lead, moving to the front of the pack, but over the final 25 yards Vanderkaay blew past him and handed over a slight lead to Hurd. Hurd took care of business on the third leg with Ketchum taking to the pool as the anchor. Minnesota anchor Igor Cerensek made a slight move on Ketchum, but with 25 yards left in the race the Michigan senior captain laid down the hammer and won the race by more than two seconds.

The Wolverines head into the final day of the Big Ten Conference Championships looking to win their 14th league title under 22nd-year head coach Jon Urbanchek, who will retire following the 2004 summer swimming season.

Team Standings (After Day 2)

 1. Minnesota 441.5 2. MICHIGAN 391 3. Northwestern 351 4. Indiana 316.5 5. Wisconsin 249.5 6. Penn State 219.5 7. Purdue 200 8. Ohio State 191 9. Iowa 150 10. Michigan State 112

Event Winners/U-M Finishes (Day 2)
(Preliminary time in parentheses if faster than finals time)

200-yard Medley Relay

 1. Indiana 1:27.40*! (Matt Leach, Kevin Swander Murph Halasz, Claes Andersson) 5. Michigan 1:28.42#& (Chris DeJong, Christian Vanderkaay Davis Tarwater, Peter Vanderkaay) 

400-yard Individual Medley

 1. Peter Vanderkaay, U-M 3:45.84*! 6. Chuck Sayao, U-M 3:51.08# (3:49.94#) 10. Nick Douville, U-M 3:53.25#

100-yard Butterfly

 1. Tony Swanson, Northwestern 46.89*%! 2. Davis Tarwater, U-M 47.41#

200-yard Freestyle

 1. Dan Ketchum, U-M 1:34.37*! 5. Andrew Hurd, U-M 1:36.17* 18. Mike Porth, U-M 1:40.47 27. Jorge Carral, U-M 1:41.91 29. Tim Wera, U-M 1:42.31 35. Winston Chico, U-M 1:42.83

100-yard Breaststroke

 1. Mike Alexander, Northwestern 53.84*! 7. Christian Vanderkaay, U-M 55.12# 12. Jim Kibbe, U-M 55.87 (55.86) 15. Josh Hack, U-M 56.33 (56.14) 18. Andrew Albright, U-M 56.20

100-yard Backstroke

 1. Matt Grevers, Northwestern 46.68*$%! 2. Chris DeJong, U-M 47.19* 22. Michael Galindo, U-M 50.82 29. Ryan Earhart, U-M 51.78

Three-meter Diving

 1. Mitchell Richeson, OSU 653.75^%! 9. Jason Coben, U-M 488.45 22. Dusty Garwood, U-M 351.80 24. Jon Donadee, U-M 319.60 25. Jake Boehm, U-M 318.30 26. Pat Noyes, U-M 268.55

800-yard Freestyle Relay

 1. Michigan 6:21.77*%! (Davis Tarwater, Peter Vanderkaay, Andrew Hurd, Dan Ketchum) * NCAA automatic time # NCAA consideration time $ Big Ten Conference record % Big Ten meet record & U-M School record ! Boilermaker Aquatic Center record

Day 1 Results


Dan Ketchum became the second Wolverine to win the 200-yard freestyle three times in a career. Gustavo Borges (1993-96) won the event all four years he swam for Michigan.

Peter Vanderkaay set yet another pool record in the Boilermaker Aquatic Center with a time of 3:45.84 to win the 400-yard individual medley.

With the victory by Peter Vanderkaay in the 400-yard individual medley, a Wolverine has won the event seven straight years dating back to 1998. Andy Potts (1996-99) began the tradition with a win in the event at the 1998 Big Ten meet.

Peter Vanderkaay became the fifth fastest performer in Michigan history in the 400-yard individual medley when he posted a time of 3:45.84 this evening.

Christian Vanderkaay became the seventh fastest performer in Michigan history in the 100-yard breaststroke when he posted a time of 55.12 this evening.

Davis Tarwater became improved his standing as the thrid fastest individual performer in the 100-yard butterfly when he turned in a runner-up time of 47.41 in the event this evening. Tarwater previously held the No. 3 spot on U-M's all-time top performers list with a mark of 47.90.

Michigan's win the 800-yard freestyle relay marked the fourth consecutive year it has stood atop the podium in the event. Since 1965 U-M has won the event 18 times (1965, '68-69, '78-79, '83-84, '87, '92-95, '97-98, 2001-04).

Contact: Gene Skidmore (734) 763-4423