DeJong, Tarwater Set Records; U-M Second in Big Ten

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. -- Despite four event champions on the final day of action, the No. 10 University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team could not send off retiring head coach Jon Urbanchek with a victory Saturday (Feb. 28) at the Big Ten Championships. U-M tallied 605 points in the Boilermaker Aquatic Center and would up second behind Minnesota, which accumulated 712.5 points. In his 22nd and final season, Urbanchek was named by his peers the Big Ten Swimming Coach of the Year for the ninth time in his career. It marks the second consecutive year in which Michigan's head man was dubbed the league's top swimming coach.


DeJong dominated the field in the 200 backstroke,  winning by 1.5 seconds and setting an all-time conference record.

Headlining the efforts for the Maize and Blue were senior Jason Coben (Newtown Square, Pa./Marple Newtown HS) and the sophomore class of Chris DeJong (Holland, Mich./Holland HS), Davis Tarwater (Knoxville, Tenn./Webb School) and Peter Vanderkaay (Rochester, Mich./Adams HS), as each claimed an individual title. Coben was named Big Ten Diver of the Championship and Vanderkaay was chosen as co-Big Ten Swimmer of the Year. DeJong and Tarwater did not leave empty handed though as both take back to Ann Arbor Big Ten Conference and league meet records, in the 200-yard backstroke and 200-yard butterfly, respectively.

Coben was named Diver of the Championship after winning two events, including his first-place finish on his signature event, the platform, which he won this evening. Heading into the finals as the No. 1 seed and only competitor to score in the 500s (535.40), he was the last to dive. Following an impressive dive that earned 7.5s and 8s on his second to last dive, coupled with back-to-back low scoring performances by Purdue's Josh Karshen, Coben stood atop the 10-meter platform needing only to score 15 points to win the event. Coben did better than that as he scored 40 points to claim his third consecutive title in the event.

Vanderkaay claimed his third individual event of the championship when he posted an NCAA automatic qualifying and Doris Z. Holloway pool record 14:48.12 to stand atop the podium of the 1,650-yard freestyle. The sophomore completed the mile-long race 25 yards ahead of teammate and runner-up Andrew Hurd (Oakvillle, Ontario/Oakville Trafalger).

Hurd was in a battle for the second-place spot as he was forced to fend off Northwestern's Brian Davis in the final lap before clocking in 0.72 seconds ahead of the Wildcat, 15:08.06 to 15:08.78. Also scoring the big points for Michigan was junior Zayd Ma (Ann Arbor, Mich./Clonara HS), who notched a personal-best and NCAA "B" standard time of 15:13.02. The time bettered his previous best in the event by 13 seconds as his old mark stood at 15:26.04 set last year at the conference championships (3/1/03).

Vanderkaay headlined a major point event by the Wolverines in the first event of the evening as U-M jumped right back into the championship race by totaling 64 points to pull the Maize and Blue to within 34.5 points of Minnesota (489.5-455).
DeJong added his name to the list of Michigan champions at the conference meet when he dominated the 200-yard backstroke, setting an all-time Big Ten record in 1:41.78. DeJong never trailed in the race. DeJong also earned an automatic trip to the NCAA Championships in Long Island, N.Y., as his record-setting time was 2.5 seconds below the NCAA "A" standard clocking of 1:44.02. DeJong's time snapped former U-M tanker Derya Buyukuncu's 1998 time of 1:42.24 set in a Big Ten championship winning performance.

Tarwater continued the U-M dominance atop the awards stand as he won the 200-yard butterfly with an all-time Big Ten record time of 1:43.26. The time bettered former Wolverine Tom Malchow's time of 1:43.58 set in 1999. The 2000 Olympic gold medalist in the event was in attendance to see his record fall, as Tarwater clocked in 1.55 seconds ahead of his nearest competition.

Michigan athletes will not be in action until Coben attempts to qualify for the NCAA Championships at the NCAA Diving Zones Friday through Sunday, March 12-14, on the campus of Indiana University in Bloomington, Ind. Coben will be looking for his fourth straight trip to the national championship meet. Last year at the NCAA Championships Coben became the first Wolverine to win the national championship in the platform as he scored a personal-best 575.80.

Final Team Standings

 1. Minnesota 712.50 2. MICHIGAN 605 3. Northwestern 478 4. Indiana 452.50 5. Wisconsin 341.50 6. Purdue 337 7. Penn State 299.50 8. Ohio State 250 9. Iowa 204 10. Michigan State 126 

Event Winners/U-M Finishes (Day 3)
(Preliminary time in parentheses if faster than finals time)

1,650-yard Freestyle

 1. Peter Vanderkaay, U-M 14:48.66! 2. Andrew Hurd, U-M 15:08.06# 4. Zayd Ma, U-M 15:13.02# 10. Brendan Neligan, U-M 15:38.55 14. Tim Wera, U-M 15:42.08 15. Jorge Carral, U-M 15:43.29 22. Winston Chico, U-M 15:55.07

200-yard Backstroke

 1. Chris DeJong, U-M 1:41.78*%$! 14. Chuck Sayao, U-M 1:48.44 (1:47.70) 18. Michael Galindo, U-M 1:49.17 26. Andrew Hack, U-M 1:51.65

100-yard Freestyle

 1. Matt Grevers, Northwestern 43.14* (42.72*%!) 7. Dan Ketchum, U-M 44.25# (43.73#) 40. Mike Porth, U-M 46.08

200-yard Breaststroke

 1. Giordan Pogioli, Purdue 1:56.13*! 6. Jim Kibbe, U-M 1:59.38# 11. Andrew Albright, U-M 2:01.86 19. Josh Hack, U-M 2:03.59

200-yard Butterfly

 1. Davis Tarwater, U-M 1:43.46*%$&! 6. Nicholas Douville, U-M 1:49.34 (1:48.31) 8. Zayd Ma, U-M 1:52.26 (1:46.68#) 19. Christian Vanderkaay, U-M 1:50.63 30. Brendan Neligan, U-M 1:54.10

Platform Diving

 1. Jason Coben, U-M 540.45^! 18. Jon Donadee, U-M 275.40 19. Pat Noyes, U-M 271.10

400-yard Freestyle Relay

 1. Minnesota 2:51.65*%$! (Mario Delac, Terry Silkaitis Neil Osten, Igor Cerensek) 3. Michigan 2:54.89* (Chris DeJong, Peter Vanderkaay Davis Tarwater, Dan Ketchum) * NCAA automatic time # NCAA consideration time % Big Ten Conference record $ Big Ten meet record ^ NCAA zone diving qualifying mark & U-M school record ! Boilermaker Aquatic Center record

Previous Results: Day 1 | Day 2

Contact: Gene Skidmore (734) 763-4423