Bosch Resets Records During Day 4 Prelims at Big Tens
Dylan Bosch

March 1, 2014

Complete Results | Photo Gallery  | Championships Central

Site: Ann Arbor, Mich. (Canham Natatorium)
Event: Big Ten Championships (Day 4 of 4)
U-M Team Standing: 1st of 10 Teams (599 points) after Day 3
Next U-M Event: Saturday, March 1 -- host Big Ten Championships - Day 4 Finals (Canham Natatorium), 6:30 p.m.

Event Winners/U-M Finishers (Day 4 Prelims)

200-yard Backstroke
 1. Andrew Teduits, Wisconsin         1:40.23*~
 6. Ryutaro Kamiya, U-M               1:42.20#
13. Jack Mangan, U-M                  1:45.08#
100-yard Freestyle
 1. Derek Toomey, Minnesota             42.42*&
 3. Bruno Ortiz, U-M                    42.67#
T5. Michael Wynalda, U-M                43.29#
 9. Justin Glanda, U-M                  43.42#
13. Hassaan Abdel Khalik, U-M           43.66#
17. Vinny Tafuto, U-M                   44.10#
200-yard Breaststroke
 1. Cody Miller, Indiana              1:53.78*
 3. Richard Funk, U-M                 1:54.88#
 5. Matt McNamara, U-M                1:55.81#
 8. Chris Klein, U-M                  1:57.00#
 9. Paul Corbae, U-M                  1:57.11#
10. Kyle Duckitt, U-M                 1:57.17#
200-yard Butterfly
 1. Dylan Bosch, U-M                  1:40.37M*!&~
 2. Kyle Whitaker, U-M                1:42.44*
 4. Peter Brumm, U-M                  1:44.03#
 7. John Wojciechowski, U-M           1:45.06#
19. Daniel Miller, U-M                1:48.14
M University of Michigan record
N NCAA record
U U.S. Open record
* NCAA automatic qualifying time
# NCAA consideration time
^ NCAA Zone Diving qualifying score
! Big Ten record
& Big Ten Championships record
~ Pool Record

Previous Results
Day 3 Finals | Day 3 Prelims | Day 2 Finals | Day 2 Prelims | Day 1


• Not counting the 1,650-yard freestyle or platform diving, U-M will return 10 up/5 down to tonight's finals. On the same day last year, U-M went 11 up/4 down.

Dylan Bosch reset his Big Ten, Big Ten Championships and U-M records, while establishing a new pool record in the 200-yard butterfly (1:40.37). Bosch came into the meet with the nation's top time in that race (1:41.01, set at Winter Nationals in December) and cut nearly seven tenths off that time on Friday. That time was the prior Big Ten and U-M record. The previous Big Ten Championships record was 1:41.18 that Bosch set last year as a freshman (he won the conference title). The old pool record was 1:43.65 set by Alex Vanderkaay in 2008.

• He will be joined in the 'A' final by three others: Kyle Whitaker (1:42.44), Peter Brumm (1:44.03) and John Wojciechowski (1:45.06). All three of those men and Bosch will return to the championship heat of the 200-yard butterfly after also making it last season.

• Two men will score points tonight in the 200-yard backstroke -- Ryutaro Kamiya in the championship heat (1:42.20) and Jack Mangan in the consolation final (1:45.08).

• U-M will return five to the 200-yard breaststroke tonight, including three in the championship final. Richard Funk was third in prelims (1:54.88), Matt McNamara was fifth (1:55.81) and Chris Klein was eighth (1:57.00). McNamara obliterated his previous career-best swim, going from 1:58.76 to 1:55.81. He was 20th in the same race last season. Paul Corbae (1:57.11) and Kyle Duckitt (1:57.17) narrowly missed the championship heat but will be the top two seeds in the consolation final.

Bruno Ortiz (42.67) and Michael Wynalda (43.29) will represent U-M in the championship heat of the 100-yard freestyle, while Justin Glanda (43.42) and Hassaan Abdel Khalik (43.66) will be in the consolation heat. Ortiz was just two tenths-of-a-second off of the U-M record of 42.46, which Gustavo Borges set in 1994. It's the longest-standing remaining record in program history.

• Diver Timothy Faerber made his third championship final of the weekend, finishing eighth in platform preliminaries (351.75). James Ross also made a consolation final (289.80). With Ross scoring points in the consolation final, every member of U-M's team at the Big Ten Championships will have scored points for the team.

Career Bests (March 1)
Ryutaro Kamiya -- 200-yard Backstroke (1:42.20)
Jack Mangan -- 200-yard Backstroke (1:45.08)
Bruno Ortiz -- 100-yard Freestyle (42.67)
Michael Wynalda -- 100-yard Freestyle (43.29)
Justin Glanda -- 100-yard Freestyle (43.42)
Hassaan Abdel Khalik -- 100-yard Freestyle (43.66)
Vinny Tafuto -- 100-yard Freestyle (44.10)
Matt McNamara -- 200-yard Breaststroke (1:55.81)
Chris Klein -- 200-yard Breaststroke (1:57.00)
Paul Corbae -- 200-yard Breaststroke (1:57.11)
Dylan Bosch -- 200-yard Butterfly (1:40.37)
Kyle Whitaker -- 200-yard Butterfly (1:42.44)
Peter Brumm -- 200-yard Butterfly (1:44.03)

Contact: Brad Rudner (