Maize & Blue Captures Fourth Straight Big Ten Crown

March 1, 2014

Complete Results | Notes | Photo Gallery  | Highlights video icon
Championships Central

Site: Ann Arbor, Mich. (Canham Natatorium)
Event: Big Ten Championships (Day 4 of 4)
U-M Team Standing: 1st Place of 10 Teams (889 points)
Attendance: 1,045
Next U-M Event: Saturday, March 8 -- at Ohio State Last Chance Meet (Columbus, Ohio)

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- The No. 2-ranked University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team led wire to wire to capture its fourth consecutive Big Ten Conference championship on Saturday (March 1) in front of the home crowd at Canham Natatorium. The Wolverines tallied 889 points over the four-day of competition, blowing by second-place Indiana (564 points) and third-place Ohio State (515 points). The Big Ten Network will show Saturday night's finals tomorrow morning (Sunday, March 2) at 10:30 a.m.

During the four-day competition, every member of the team scored points, winning a total of 11 Big Ten titles (seven individual, four relay) while breaking one NCAA record (800-yard freestyle relay), five Big Ten records, four Big Ten Championships records and four U-M records. The Wolverines recorded 48 career-best performances during the championships, grabbing 20 NCAA 'A' times and 45 NCAA 'B' times.

Following the conclusion of the meet, head coach Mike Bottom was named Big Ten Swimming Coach of the Year for the fourth consecutive season.

Michigan entered the night with a 193-point lead and padded it on Saturday thanks to great depth in the 1,650-yard freestyle, 200-yard butterfly and 200-yard breaststroke, where a total of 13 swimmers scored points. Senior Connor Jaeger (Fair Haven, N.J./Rumson-Fair Haven) and sophomore Dylan Bosch (Johannesburg, South Africa/Crawford College, Sandton) successfully defended their titles in the 1,650-yard freestyle (14:34.19) and 200-yard butterfly (1:40.45), respectively, with Bosch re-setting his own Big Ten, Big Ten Championships and U-M records during the morning's preliminaries (1:40.37).

As it has in recent years, Michigan dominated the 1,650-yard freestyle, as four swimmers combined for 61 points. Behind Jaeger was sophomore Anders Nielsen (Vanloese, Denmark) in third (14:48.23), senior Sean Ryan (Hixson, Tenn./McCallie School) in fifth (14:58.27) and freshman Cameron Stitt (Portland, Ore./Sunset) in eighth (15:07.39). Three others stood next to Bosch on the podium of the 200-yard butterfly, including senior Kyle Whitaker (Chesterton, Ind./Chesterton) in second (1:41.90), sophomore Peter Brumm (Cornelius, N.C./Hough) in fourth (1:43.92) and senior John Wojciechowski (Scottsdale, Ariz./Phoenix Brophy Prep) in fifth (1:44.08).

U-M placed three in the top six of the 200-yard breaststroke, led by junior Richard Funk (Edmonton, Alberta/Strathcona) in third place (1:53.49). Following him was sophomore Matt McNamara (Huntington Woods, Mich./Univ. of Detroit Jesuit) in fifth (1:55.75) and freshman Chris Klein (Ann Arbor, Mich./Pioneer) in sixth (1:56.05). Two others scored points in the 100-yard freestyle, including junior Bruno Ortiz (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International) in third (42.70) and senior Michael Wynalda (Wyoming, Mich./Grandville) in fifth (43.14). In the 200-yard backstroke, senior Ryutaro Kamiya (Tokyo, Japan/St. Mary's International) took fifth (1:42.17).

Sophomore Timothy Faerber (Potomac, Md./Churchill) placed fourth on the 10-meter platform with a score of 374.85, improving upon his 10th-place finish of a year ago.

The championships closed with a tight 400-yard freestyle relay. The Wolverines, anchored by Wynalda, overtook Penn State down the last 25 yards to claim the victory in a championship-meet record 2:51.07. Ortiz, Nielsen, junior Justin Glanda (Rochester Hills, Mich./Cranbrook Kingswood) and Wynalda combined for the win.

Big Ten Swimming and Diving Champions

The Wolverines will get back to work in preparation to defend their national championship March 27-29 at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center in Austin, Texas. Select swimmers will be in action next Saturday (March 8) at the Ohio State Last Chance Meet in Columbus, Ohio, while the divers will prepare for the NCAA Zone C Diving Championships, to be held March 13-15, also in Columbus, Ohio.

Team Standings (After Day 4)

 1. MICHIGAN                889
 2. Indiana                 564
 3. Ohio State              515
 4. Minnesota               378
 5. Penn State              349.5
 6. Purdue                  329.5
 7. Wisconsin               229.5
 8. Iowa                    188
 9. Northwestern            158
10. Michigan State          107.5

Event Winners/U-M Finishers (Day 4)
Preliminaries time in parentheses if faster than finals time

1,650-yard Freestyle
 1. Connor Jaeger, U-M                14:34.19*
 3. Anders Nielsen, U-M               14:48.23#
 4. Sean Ryan, U-M                    14:58.27#
 8. Cameron Stitt, U-M                15:07.39#
200-yard Backstroke
 1. Eric Ress, Indiana                 1:38.89*~&
 5. Ryutaro Kamiya, U-M                1:42.17#
13. Jack Mangan, U-M                   1:45.80 (1:45.08#)
100-yard Freestyle
 1. Shane Ryan, Penn State               42.08*!&~
 3. Bruno Ortiz, U-M                     42.70# (42.67#)
T5. Michael Wynalda, U-M                 43.14#
13. Justin Glanda, U-M                   43.81# (43.42#)
14. Hassaan Abdel Khalik, U-M            43.92# (43.66#)
17. Vinny Tafuto, U-M                    44.52# (44.10#)
200-yard Breaststroke
 1. Cody Miller, Indiana               1:52.58*~
 3. Richard Funk, U-M                  1:53.49*
 5. Matt McNamara, U-M                 1:55.75#
 6. Chris Klein, U-M                   1:56.05#
11. Kyle Duckitt, U-M                  1:56.75#
16. Paul Corbae, U-M                   1:59.21 (1:57.11#)
200-yard Butterfly
 1. Dylan Bosch, U-M                   1:40.54* (1:40.37M*!&~)
 2. Kyle Whitaker, U-M                 1:41.90*
 4. Peter Brumm, U-M                   1:43.92# (1:44.03#)
 5. John Wojciechowski, U-M            1:44.08# (1:45.06#)
18. Daniel Miller, U-M                 1:47.94#
Platform Diving
 1. Conor Murphy, Indiana               434.85^
 4. Timothy Faerber, U-M                374.85^
14. James Ross, U-M                     316.05^
400-yard Freestyle Relay
1. MICHIGAN                            2:51.07*&~
  (Bruno Ortiz, Anders Nielsen,
   Justin Glanda, Michael Wynalda)
M University of Michigan record
N NCAA record
U U.S. Open record
* NCAA automatic qualifying time
# NCAA consideration time
^ NCAA Zone Diving qualifying score
! Big Ten record
& Big Ten Championships record
~ Pool Record

Previous Results
Day 4 Prelims | Day 3 Finals | Day 3 Prelims | Day 2 Finals | Day 2 Prelims | Day 1

Michigan Big Ten Champions
Richard Funk (3): 100-yard Breaststroke, 200-yard Medley Relay, 400-yard Medley Relay
Connor Jaeger (3): 500-yard Freestyle, 1,650-yard Freestyle, 800-yard Freestyle Relay
Bruno Ortiz (3): 400-yard Freestyle Relay, 200-yard Medley Relay, 400-yard Medley Relay
Michael Wynalda (3): 200-yard Freestyle, 400-yard Freestyle Relay, 800-yard Freestyle Relay
Justin Glanda (2): 400-yard Freestyle Relay, 800-yard Freestyle Relay
Anders Nielsen (2): 400-yard Freestyle Relay, 800-yard Freestyle Relay
Kyle Whitaker (2): 200-yard IM, 400-yard IM
John Wojciechowski (2): 200-yard Medley Relay, 400-yard Medley Relay
Dylan Bosch (1): 200-yard Butterfly
Peter Brumm (1): 200-yard Medley Relay
Jason Chen (1): 400-yard Medley Relay

Big Ten Award Winners
Swimming Coach of the Year: Mike Bottom, Michigan
Diving Coach of the Year: Drew Johansen, Indiana
Swimmer of the Championships: Shane Ryan, Penn State
Diver of the Championships: Darian Schmidt, Indiana
Big Ten Freshman of the Year: Jakub Maly, Minnesota

2013-14 Michigan All-Big Ten Selections
First Team: Dylan Bosch, Peter Brumm, Jason Chen, Richard Funk, Justin Glanda, Connor Jaeger, Anders Nielsen, Bruno Ortiz, Kyle Whitaker, John Wojciechowski, Michael Wynalda

Contact: Brad Rudner (