Michigan Concludes Competition at Zone Championships
James Ross

March 15, 2014

Site: Columbus, Ohio (McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion)
Event: NCAA Zone C Diving Championships (Day 3 of 3)
U-M Team Standing: No team scoring
Next U-M Event: Thu-Sat., March 27-29 -- at NCAA Championships (Austin, Texas) 11 a.m./7 p.m. CDT

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- Four divers from the No. 2-ranked University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team concluded competition at the three-day NCAA Zone C Diving Championships on Saturday (March 15) inside the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion.

Sophomore Timothy Faerber (Potomac, Md./Churchill) made finals on one-meter and three-meter, finishing in 10th place (600.50) and 11th place (659.45), respectively. He also dove off the platform but was unable to make a final, finishing 17th (244.20).

Senior James Ross (Richmond, Va./Collegiate School) represented U-M in the platform finals, taking 11th (561.95). He also took 19th on both one-meter (277.05) and three-meter (286.80).

The other two divers in action were senior Nate Rietberg (Jenison, Mich./Jenison) and junior Kevin Bain (Northville, Mich./Northville). Rietberg competed on two boards, with his highest finish coming on one-meter (32nd, 248.10), while Bain dove off all three, finishing as high as 16th on platform (246.90).

No Wolverines qualified for the NCAA Championships, set to be held March 27-29 inside the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center in Austin, Texas. U-M will send 13 swimmers to the competition, as it looks to repeat as national champion.

Event Winners/U-M Finishers

Three-Meter Diving (Thursday, March 13)
 1. Darian Schmidt, Indiana            794.20
11. Timothy Faerber, U-M               659.45
19. James Ross, U-M                    286.80
30. Kevin Bain, U-M                    258.80
39. Nate Rietberg, U-M                 217.90
One-Meter Diving (Friday, March 14)
 1. Emad Abdelatif, Indiana            685.25
10. Timothy Faerber, U-M               600.50
19. James Ross, U-M                    277.05
32. Nate Rietberg, U-M                 248.10
40. Kevin Bain, U-M                    223.35

Platform Diving (Saturday, March 15) 1. Nathan Cox, Purdue 780.80 11. James Ross, U-M 561.95 16. Kevin Bain, U-M 246.90 17. Timothy Faerber, U-M 244.20

Contact: Brad Rudner (brudner@umich.edu)