Ransford, Auböck Reach Podium to Close NCAA Championships
Felix Auböck

March 25, 2017

» The Wolverines finished in 17th place (82 points).
» Felix Auböck finished runner-up in the 1,650-yard freestyle with the second-fastest time in school history (14:22.88), a new Big Ten and U-M record. PJ Ransford took sixth (14:32.35), moving to No. 5 in school history.
» Jacob Montague also scored points on Saturday, taking 11th in the 200-yard breaststroke (1:53.94).

Photo Gallery  | Championships Central

Site: Indianapolis, Ind. (IUPUI Natatorium)
Event: NCAA Championships (Day 4 of 4)
U-M Team Standing: 17th Place (82 points)
Next U-M Event: Season Complete

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Freshman Felix Auböck and junior PJ Ransford of the University of Michigan men's swimming and diving team each earned NCAA All-America honors in the 1,650-yard freestyle to close the season at the NCAA Championships on Saturday (March 25) at IUPUI Natatorium. The Wolverines finished the meet in 17th (82 points). Texas won the team title (542 points).

Auböck closed his rookie season with his most impressive swim yet, posting the second-fastest time in program history to take runner-up honors (14:22.88). The Austrian was one of our four swimmers in contention for the win, all finishing within one second of each other in what ended up being the fastest set of swims in history. Auböck blasted the old Big Ten and school record of 14:26.62, which was held by U.S. Olympian Chris Thompson since 2001.

Ransford, meanwhile, employed a similar strategy to last year, turning on the jets in his second 500-yard segment and holding on for sixth (14:32.35). He moved to fifth on the school's all-time list with that performance, passing Peter Vanderkaay while also surpassing Connor Jaeger for the school record in the 1,000-yard freestyle (8:43.37). It is a career-best time for Ransford, beating his old mark of 14:34.36 from the 2015 NCAA Championships, in which he finished second.

Tweet of the Day

With those performances, Michigan put two swimmers on the podium in the 1,650-yard freestyle for the first time since 2013 (three: Connor Jaeger, Sean Ryan, Ryan Feeley), a meet that, coincidentally, was also held at IUPUI Natatorium.

"To see Felix and PJ swim the way they did tonight was inspiring," said head coach Mike Bottom. "After a long and tiring meet, those guys gave everything they had for Michigan. We had guys swim lifetime bests that didn't score. That speaks to just how fast the swimming was and how tough it is to score at a meet like this. It wasn't the finish we wanted, but we'll learn from it and get better moving forward."

Freshman Jacob Montague scored points with an 11th-place finish in the 200-yard breaststroke (1:53.94). He was one of three freshmen in a field of 44 swimmers to take the water this morning -- classmate Charlie Swanson was one of the others -- and was the only one of the three to score, a positive sign for the future in an event that featured seven seniors and seven juniors among the top 16 on Saturday. Also in the event was senior Chris Klein, who took 24th (1:55.30) in his final collegiate swim.

Junior Evan White had a fantastic swim in the preliminaries of the 200-yard butterfly, taking more than a second off his seed time and improving 11 spots, finishing 19th (1:42.38). Freshman Miles Smachlo came in 25th (1:43.58).

The 400-yard freestyle relay team of junior Paul Powers, junior Tristan Sanders, freshman James Jones and Auböck swam only a few tenths off its seed time in the morning, finishing 19th (2:51.87). Powers split 42.99 -- a little more than two tenths from his career-best time -- while Auböck, who swam the mile later in the evening, anchored with the fastest split of the four in 42.68.

Final Team Standings

  1. Texas                     542
  2. California                349
  3. Florida                   294.5
  4. North Carolina State      272.5
  5. Stanford                  242
  6. USC                       237
  7. Indiana                   229.5
  8. Georgia                   183
  9. Missouri                  179.5
 10. Alabama                   153.5
 17. MICHIGAN                   82

Event Winners/U-M Finishers (Day 4)
Preliminaries time in parentheses if faster than finals time

1,650-yard Freestyle
  1. Clark Smith, Texas                      14:22.41ANP
  2. Felix Auböck, U-M                       14:22.88BM
  6. PJ Ransford, U-M                        14:32.35
200-yard Breaststroke
  1. Will Licon, Texas                        1:47.91ANP
 11. Jacob Montague, U-M                      1:53.94 (1:53.69)
 24. Chris Klein, U-M                         1:55.30
 43. Charlie Swanson, U-M                     1:59.26
200-yard Butterfly
  1. Jack Conger, Texas                       1:37.35ANP
 19. Evan White, U-M                          1:42.38
 25. Miles Smachlo, U-M                       1:43.38
400-yard Freestyle Relay
  1. Texas                                    2:45.39N
    (Brett Ringgold, Jack Conger,
     Townley Haas, Joseph Schooling)
 19. Michigan                                 2:51.87
    (Paul Powers, Tristan Sanders,
     James Jones, Felix Auböck)
A American Record
B Big Ten Record
M School Record
N NCAA Record
P Pool Record

Felix Auböck -- 500-yard Freestyle, 1,650-yard Freestyle
Paul Powers -- 50-yard Freestyle
PJ Ransford -- 1,650-yard Freestyle

Felix Auböck -- 200-yard Freestyle
Jacob Montague -- 200-yard Breaststroke
800-yard Freestyle Relay (Felix Auböck, Jack Mangan, Tristan Sanders, Mokhtar Al-Yamani)

• Previous Results: Day 3 | Day 2 | Day 1

Communications Contact: Brad Rudner