Postmeet Notes: NCAA Championships - Day 2

March 28, 2014

Recap |  Quotes |  Prelims  |  Finals 

Richard Funk won the last spot in the championship final of the 100-yard breaststroke after beating Dartmouth's Nejc Zupan in a swim-off. Both men tied for eighth in preliminaries (52.44), but Funk won the swim-off in 51.76, which would have been the second-fastest time in preliminaries. He was also one hundredth-of-a-second off his school-record time of 51.75, set this year's Big Ten Championships.

• With his sixth-place finish in the 400-yard IM, Kyle Whitaker is now an 11-time NCAA All-American. In his career, he has two second-place finishes (2011, 2012), a seventh-place finish (2014) and a ninth-place finish (2013) in that race.

Bruno Ortiz had the second-fastest time in the preliminaries of the 100-yard breaststroke (52.04).

• U-M was the top seed in the 800-yard freestyle relay heading into the NCAA Championships. The foursome of Anders Nielsen, Michael Wynalda, Justin Glanda and Connor Jaeger set the NCAA record with a swim of 6:09.85 at this year's Big Ten Championships. All four men swam on the relay on Friday.

Justin Glanda picked up his first career NCAA All-America honor as part of the 800-yard freestyle relay.

• The 200-yard medley relay was unable to defend its national championship from last season, missing out on final spot in the championship heat by nine hundredths-of-a-second to California (1:25.03).